How Do You Recognize Genuine Amber from Fake?

in #amber6 years ago

How do you recognize genuine amber from a fake?

One way is to put it in a salt water container - if the amber floats, it is genuine, if it sinks, it's a fake.

As you can see in this picture, the perfect-looking bracelets and other 'amber' souvenirs on the bottom of the vase are fake, most likely plastic.

Amber_GenuinevsFake.jpg

Of course, it's not an ideal method of finding out the truth behind your amber jewellery, as none of us walks around with bowls of salt water...

... plus the problem is, if it's a piece of jewellery you have bought, which includes metal finishings, the amber piece will sink in any case, because of the weight of the metal.

There's another way of finding out whether your amber jewellery is genuine. I'll tell you later.

Buy genuine amber, enjoy your life!

All photos and text is my original content.

You can see copyright signs on photos because they were taken for my blog www.curioustovisit.com .

If you liked this post, let’s connect – leave a comment or follow me at @vliet , I’ll check out your profile as well.

You can also find me on my travel blog www.curioustovisit.com or Facebook Page HERE

Sort:  

Thank you for your awesome participation in Market Friday. While I was able to read your entire post, I do not have enough internet on vacation to write proper replies, but please know that I appreciate the time and effort put in to making this challenge a success.

You are, indeed a wonderful addition to Market Friday.

Upped and steemed

Sekundę pamaniau, kad tai gyvatės odos... :D

Chacha! Tikrai panašu :DDD

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63725.17
ETH 2619.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82