An adventure in the Amazon Rain forest, Lago Sandoval - Tambopata

in #amazon6 years ago

Kipu Life Trip Day 08

On our second day in the Amazon (8th day in Peru) I arose around 6am to the sounds of light rain and the night sounds of the jungle fading away to the sounds of the dawn of a new day. The rest of the people on the Kipu Life trip were still asleep but I couldn't resist rising early to get in some early morning meditation and self-reflection.

IMG_20180111_171315.jpg

00.jpg

15.jpg

I meandered to a hammock outside the dining area of the settlement we were staying and decided to read a book and eat a banana picked from a tree growing nearby. It is a surreal experience to start your day like this in the middle of such raw nature. I didn’t get very far in my book when I realized I was far more content just listening, watching and breathing in the Amazon. I can read a book any day but its not every day you can tune your 5 senses into the Amazon.

Our day unfolded as follows:

Hiking through the jungle and climbing trees that are over 500 years old.

IMG_20180111_111912.jpg

IMG_20180111_114716.jpg

07.jpg

IMG_20180111_105734.jpg

IMG_20180111_111929.jpg

Canoeing around Lake Sandoval

IMG_20180111_162255.jpg

Where we had some visitors at our boat!

IMG_20180111_172818.jpg

Climbing to the top of a tower in the jungle

IMG_20180111_171803.jpg

Fishing for piranhas as the sun set.

09.jpg

18.jpg

19.jpg

And ending the day trekking through the jungle at night.

IMG_20180111_185315.jpg

IMG_20180111_185217.jpg

What an experience! Words do not suffice to do justice to it!

Sort:  

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=bennettreiss
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=an-adventure-in-the-amazon-rain-forest-lago-sandoval-tambopata


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

i soooo want to do an Amazon tour. thanks for posting!
resteemed

Join a trip with me next time around. Check out my non profit at www.kipulife.com 😀

we'll see. thanks. look like interesting trips

No need to come on one of my trips. I just couldn't help but to share my site. Nonetheless I do encourage you to visit the Amazon one way or another. It's a truely incredible experience. I'll be writing posts on our last two days next week. Check in on Monday to see!

will do 😀

May be enjoyable trip with your friends....

It was indeed. I don't know even how to describe it. I've taken friends before the Peru where my mom is from in high school and also during University. As an adult now I have a whole new outlook on life and appreciation for my ancestral home country. To be able to share this experience with good friends was something I'll never forget. Adding to the fact that traveling is a passion of mine doing someone a healthy holistic way I couldn't have asked for a better experience.

Hiya, just swinging by to let you know that this post made the Honorable mentions list in today's Travel Digest!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 61519.90
ETH 2995.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.45