#amazingnature Ancient Cedar Tree growing from Rock on Lake Superior Canada

in #amazingnature4 years ago (edited)

Amazing Nature Contest - February 2020 - #01 via @adalger

IMG_20190722_113234.jpg

IMG_20180805_094745.jpg

IMG_20180806_184619.jpg

This cedar Tree that is growing from a giant ancient molten lava Rock on the shore of Lake Superior has always amazed me. I have no idea how this Tree is growing here or the fact that it has remained the same size for the last 100 years or so.

4HFqJv9qRjVeVQzX3gvDHytNF793bg88B7fESPieLQ8dxJ7YPRzqRgnYzsbwwjn4AdHj4XTtTnuHt2JNo69ytvN8rykG4gefkFiwJTReLwogAvmagnUwY5n5zSxzrbcCuNxhz6hBAbKkkAzXoYUehDCAwpmE4nryRXC.jpg

There are watercolor paintings of this rock going back into the 1800's and the Tree is the exact same size.

I have spent many summers playing on this rock, and pondering the incredible mysteries of Nature. My mom and my grandmother did also ... and now my kids too. Life is an Incredible Mystery. Enjoy.

#amazingnature contest sponsored by @adalger

Sort:  

Wow that is quite incredible indeed! Mother nature really does some spectacular things doesn't she!

She sure does..... This tree just wanted to grow there. It's like the way dandelions will grow through the asphalt on the driveway while I can't get a simple herb or vegetable to grow in perfect TopSoil ???? Nature is just going to do whatever the hell she wants.

It's like the way dandelions will grow through the asphalt on the driveway

That is precisely what crossed my mind when I saw the photos.

And yes... she sure does have a mind of her own LOL!

Wow. This is so impressive. So beautiful!

Thanks.... I have spent many summers playing on this rock, and pondering the incredible mysteries of Nature.

Thats an amazing tree!!.. He choose a really beautiful place to stay indeed and must absolutely love the oceans ^^ .. It is quite fascinating that he is not growing a single bit in all the years, but I assume that this must be the perfect sice for the tree then , so exposed that he is that location.. That is such an astonishing sight ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57899.47
ETH 3134.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39