~Amazing Nature Contest~

in #amazingnature5 years ago (edited)

My entry for the
#amazingnature contest hosted by
@adalger

February 2020 - #02

~The Eastern Grey Squirrel~
Many times over and over I have watched Grey Squirrels swiftly climb way high up into the trees tops.
What amazes me the most is when I see them gracefully crossing over on branches and boughs from one tree to another. I have also seen them leap and sometimes great distances.
I love how they make it look so easy and effortless.

20200211_200448.jpg

The Grey's are also very intelligent.
Over the years I have purchased a few different birdfeeders that were designed and claimed to be Squirrel Proof. They were not. I was most skeptical on such claims.

20200211_200528.jpg

They are professional hoarders of food and also thieves.
They will steal food that other squirrels have hoarded and hidden away . Safe to assume they all do it so I'm thinking it all works out somehow.
Burying and hoarding seeds and nuts should also be credited as planting. Squirrels are responsible for new generations of trees.
They are smart.

20200211_202214.jpg

Grey Squirrels can smell seeds and nuts beneath a foot of snow.
And there are some squirrels like the one in the above photo that dosen't have to solely rely on it's amazing natural instinct to locate food in the Wintertime to survive.
😊

Photography by
@annephilbrick
🍃🍃
20200211_204133.jpg

Sort:  

OMG! Amazing photos of the squirrel! I didn't know that they can smell seeds and nuts under a foot of snow. It is good that they can rely on your help during the winter. : )

🤗
Thank You..!!
@whatisnew
They really are pretty amazing little creatures.
:-D

Sooo amazingly cute 😍❤️💕.. I soo love squirrels and those pictures make me going melt, hehe ^^.. It sounds like the eastern gray squirrel is the bad boy amongst the other squirrels ;)

🤗😊..!!
@adalger
I find the red squirrels to be aggressive and a bit troublesome. They have often chewed through my screens and have gotten into my cabin. I have had no issues with the grey squirrels or chipmunks. I have seen them all argue among themselves. Usually foods involved 🤷‍♀️.

Loading...

Ha! Fantastic shots annephilbrick! So cute. You feed them right?

🤗Hello...!!!!!!
@janton
I mostly put food out for the birds in the Winter but the Squirrels always get their fair share. The birds don't hoard food for the Winter but the Squirrels do.
:-D

Yeah that's very true, you don't have to feed the squirrels because they steal from the birds! lol.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63615.94
ETH 2475.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54