You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why Amateur Radio?

in #amateurradio6 years ago

Right now I am operating FM only, and only on the 2M and 70cm bands- due to equipment restrictions (that's all I own). I am hoping to get an HF rig soon. I was able to use an HF rig (remotely over the internet) to make contact with my off-road club while they where out on an adventure I was unable to attend. I also manned a special event station during my clubs "Route 66 On the Air" event last month, but it turns out there was a solar flare during my shift and I was only able to make one contact.

As for digital; One of the 'wants' I have to an HF rig is that it is easy to interface with a computer. I can always wire up an older radio using a rigblaster or signal link - or solder a mess of wires and connectors... but I'd like to have something clean and easy. One person in my club is really into FT-8- but i think I want something a little more 'conversational'. I am currently a 'General' class operator described in my last comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58647.58
ETH 2550.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50