in this part of the world I find myself

in #am7 years ago

I'm much aware that opinions vary, thoughts differ and interests are diverse.
As such, I usually welcome contrary reasonings to my posts, while opening myself to ideas, insights and learning.

I get a handful of inbox messages inquiring about things relating to my posts here.

Not all are kind and complimentary words. Some would message in to clarify a few things they don't understand or agree with.
Others, to air their different views from another perspective as it relates to the context of my writings.

However, we almost always end up having a fruitful chat that leaves us both better informed and enlightened. Great minds I'd be glad I chatted with due to my subsequent broadened understanding.

I once made a post here that was inspired through an experience I had, probably one with the most positive reactions and feedbacks so far.

A lady had come to my inbox to express her displeasure concerning the post.

"All what you wrote was just nonsense," she wrote.

"Wow!" I replied, surprised, "you probably don't understand then, let me explain."

"No o. Spare me the story abeg," she rebuffed vehemently.

Still surprised and wondering as to whether I had an altercation with this lady before, I asked, "is this the first of my posts you'd read?"

"Yes."

Apparently, this was someone whose friend request I'd accepted only few days earlier.

In my mind, I began suggesting excuses for her manner of approach..

Did she wake up on the wrong side of the bed? (So how do I come into that?)

Did someone annoy her and she was only looking for who to throw it at? (Why should I then be the victim?)

Did my post attack her character or personality in anyway? (Probably. But then, even I get to learn from my own posts, as we all are striving to get better with each passing day and experience.)

All these and more ran through my mind as I wondered why she would come at me in such way.

I suggested she went through some of my other posts to understand a few things and tell me where exactly she felt I'd gotten it wrong so I could make clarifications or take to corrections myself.

But No!

"Why should I do that?" She retorted. "I'm already tired of the rubbish I read today. If you know you don't have anything meaningful to post, must you post?"

I was compelled to go check her wall. I wasn't surprised at the kind of things I saw.

I came back to give her a piece of advise that I could only hope she would take to, gave my best wishes, bade her farewell, and then did the needful! (If you know what I mean.)

Yes, it's reassuring to know we have people around who would objectively/critically assess us, letting us know where to cross our T's and dot our I's. But it's discouraging to have those who never see the good in anything we do.

Surround yourself with those who believe in you. Those who want to see you grow and become better.

I'm not talking about those who just gladden your heart with flattery and sweet words. No.

But also not those who criticise and see negativity in ALL you do.

I'm talking about those who are kind enough to compliment your good, while still being firm and sincere enough to correct your flaws.

Those who are neither threatened by your successes nor ashamed of your failures.

Those whose interaction make you improve on your weaknesses, while also consolidating on your strengths.

There are realists, and there are pessimists.

Be sure to know where each one belong, and put them in their place.23316480_1503834513041137_6160220125561950156_n.jpg

Sort:  

You seem to misunderstand the use of the tags field. See https://steemit.com/welcome for tips on how to use Steemit. Tags separate themselves by spaces on 'steemit.com' so something like "black friday" becomes two tags: "black" and "friday".

Basically tags are one word subject phrases so that others in topic of say "life" or "relatonships" might find other posts about the same thing. It helps to look at http://www.steemit.com/tags to help you decide what tags are most relevant to your post.

thank's brother much love,gat you

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62984.76
ETH 2472.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55