Alt-News #4: Storj integrate with FileZilla / IOTA & F6S team up and list of IOTA business connections / Enterprise Ethereum Alliance becomes bigger

in #altnews7 years ago (edited)

The Blockchain cloudstorage project Storj has created a graphical user interface for storing files easier on the Storj network. They have built a C library called libstorj which can be integrated into applications such as FileZilla. Compared to cloud providers such as Amazon, Storj provides a more secure and cheaper method for storing files online.

I usually don't promote any referral links but since this doesn't cost the readers anything I thought it would be okay. If I other more referral links in the future I will make sure to always mention it. Same goes for disclosing paid advertisement if I ever were to do those.

Storj currently offers 25 GB for 12 months for free for signing up! Click the image below!



Just like in many other aspects blockchain technology are providing a cheaper method due to its advantages, same thing goes for cloudstorage and another similar project to Storj would be Sia which has recently started selling their ASIC miners which I talked about in Alt-News #2.

Price Comparison


The cryptocurrency IOTA (Internet of things) has recently partnered up with F6S which is a world's largets platform for founders, start-ups and accelerators. Which means they will bring IOTA to their network and community which has over 2 million start-ups and developers and most of them focus on Internet-of-Things.

This could mean great things for the recently released currency which is currently only listed on Bitfinex. If you want to know more about IOTA I recommend checking out the website which is a work of art by itself.

At the same time IOTA is already partnered up with a lot of other businesses, some of the big names on the big list that stuck with me were: IBM, Microsoft and Consensys. Click here for a list of the rest of the connections


Enterprise Ethereum Alliance Becomes World’s Largest Open-source Blockchain Initiative

The total amount of Memberships recently exceeded over 150 Organizations in less than seven months. This is including the recently added Cisco Systems, Scotiabank, Government of Andhra Pradesh and MasterCard.

EEA’s rapid growth in membership mirrors the accelerating acceptance and deployment of Ethereum blockchain solutions in the global marketplace,

said Julio Faura, chairman of the board of Enterprise Ethereum Alliance.

The technological breadth, depth and variety of organizations coming together under the auspices of EEA to create and drive enterprise Ethereum standards bodes well for the future development of the next-generation Ethereum ecosystem.

The EEA was formed earlier this year and is seeking to evolve Ethereum into an enterprise-grade technology. Guess this is one of the big advantages of a technology having a face of the founders behind it which in my opinion was something important that bitcoin lacked to gain trust in real world companies and people. That and the technology behind it and what it can do compared to BTC.

It's going to be exciting when the world starts to look more into DPoS technologies and their advantage they have over PoW, which I believe Ethereum themselves are looking forward to evolve into soon with Casper.

Sort:  

I did try storj, thanks to a mention @moisesmcardona did at the chatrooms (that guy is a guru of altcoins), yet, when I tryed it (by sharing my free disk space) nothing happened.
I guess there's way more people offering space than people pretending to save things on the cloud (especially if we consider some mobile phones have more storage space than many PCs).

I remember trying it at one point as well and it seemed like not much was happening, maybe it has evolved since then, haven't actually tried to upload anything yet but the rates seem good.

What is the usecase as opposed to filecoin?

Storj have a little strange payment options, first of all it pay month , and your node must be working with out any connectivity issues , but in order to share on the network a big hard drive you gonna need a monster ISP line to be able to cover all the demand !

IOTA looks like such an interesting project. I'd love to see how it develops In the future. I still hope etherium does well and am holding onto mine. I that the developers and Vitali being the face of the project are doing a great job at keeping it up even with all the problems popping up lately. Thanks for sharing that storage cloud!

Still have no idea how the 'tangle' is going to turn out lol.

I like what sorjX is doing, they def have a lot of potential and as they have a working blockchain that people can USE!

Like this one! ;)

Good news indeed. Storj looks promising and I think it's worth checking it out. There's nothing to lose really.

Sounds like a great alternative. With the increased interest of moving to a cloud based system for just about everything, I believe that better products will surface at pricing levels that make sense. As long as the technology and security are able to keep pace. Thank for the review.

At least Storj has something that's already working. Unlike 80% of other coins which are vaporware for now.

Oh this is great news! I was looking for a good cloud storage option recently and Storj's pricing looks very reasonable to me. I think I need to compare some of the players in the market before proceeding. I was also going to invest in some IOTA tokens but that Bitfinex platform is not for me! I somehow dont like it.

Bitfinex platform is the worst I have come across. It is not user friendly.

Oh, man. IOTA's website theme is really relaxing to my eyes, haha. I dunno if that's weird to say, but I'm not really sure how else to put it. The connections they have set up with so many big name companies is pretty awesome too!

Thanks for sharing all the good info, bro :)

I see this coin (IOTA) every day in top 10 in Cryptorurrency Market Cap. but dont know what dose mean realy.

I have 200 Storj coins from years ago, but I am not sure if I was supposed to convert them after some change and missed out or what. This post reminded me I have to look into that.

I love it! actually I bought some storj last week as investment... maybe the investment will be to have a space in the cloud :D !!

Thanks for sharing man <3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63802.69
ETH 3413.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55