Self Converted Truck/home on wheels

in #alternativeliving6 years ago (edited)

FB_IMG_1491484196883.jpg

Today I'm going to show you a little more around Alice my truck/home.

I know some of you have been patiently waiting for me to write this feature @thevillan @underthekiltfarm @pennsif @riverflows @movingrobin @trucklife-family @rebbecaontheroof @ultravioletmag @exxodus @captainklaus @stillwatersart @joetunex @aprilpeerless and anyone else I have forgot to mention, so without any further wait, here we go.

20170601_180558.jpg

On the inside and starting at the back I have made a raised double bed complete with its own little porthole window and another bigger opening window at the rear that lets in lovely light in the daytime.

20170628_005553.jpg

I have cupboards designed all open fronted and a huge bookshelf under the bed. With a car audio unit complete with built in 4 x 250watt speakers and a 1600watt amp that I've wired a 1200watt JBL sub speaker into, believe me when this gets turned up the sound quality is amazing!

20180310_180303.jpg

Inside has a beautiful log burner that's essential to keep me warm in cold British winters.

IMG_20170331_144807_663.jpg

My kitchen has a Flavel two hob cooker that has a great oven and grill too the oven cooks a mean roast. The kitchen surface top is a solid piece of 3 and 1/2 inch thick western red ceder and the frame underneath is made From 3x2 oak timber.

FB_IMG_1517315358104.jpg

My power comes free on a good day from 440watts of 12v solar panels I've installed on the roof this runs down to a stecca controller then onto 6 x 85 amp hr 12 volt batteries.

20180310_183511.jpg
My lights are all individually switched 12v low amp Led's and the water I pump through with a foot operated diaphragm pump so no electric needed. I have 4 x 25 litre water containers and I fill these on average once a week at the local spring.

IMG_20170401_135501_229.jpg

When I first bought Alice five years ago all this I've just mentioned wasn't there and the truck was needing a lot of love. I've also spent roughly six months teaching mself to weld and then rebuilding the cab and front wheel arches floor from scratch. I also had to find and fit a new gearbox this was a major job!.

20170404_184247.jpg

it's got some great leather seats in the cab now I found at a breakers that came out of an old Mercedes car. Six new tyres. New water pump new radiator new clutch master cylinder,new clutch slave cylinder. Master steering knuckle rebuilt, I'm sure I've missed a few things off the list here too.

IMG_20171025_203556_482.jpg

The problem with old vehicles is finding parts often things have to be bespoke made as they are obsolete or months spent searching for one essential piece! Dedication perseverance time and a lot of love later my home on wheels takes me where I want to go. I think character goes such a long way and Alice certainly has that.......

received_10154362778035879.jpeg

I've lived in Alice for the past five years and although a lot of that time has been taken up designing, fixing and making her into what you see, I've enjoyed the challenges and the teachings and now I can do things like drive places mosaic the ceiling, relax, enjoy and have fun, design different pieces of jewellery exc.

IMG_20170404_210938_194.jpg

I hope you like this feature on my truck Alice, i also have many wonderful photos that I've taken along my travels and will be sharing these with you very soon on here. If theirs anything you wish to know more about or wish me to expand on further please just mention it too me in the comments.

IMG_20171028_103724_890.jpg
Wishing you infinite blessings @happysmileyman

Sort:  

Alice! Perfect timing i was just about to pop out for the night and then i got to meet your baby! It is still, by far, the best way to spend life. But my next bus will be a boat, i goto take that next step you know :)

I fucking love that kitchen worktop, where did ya get that from, bin diving?!

anyway im back tomorrow evening to dedicate a good steem sesh..

already upvoted and resteemed!

Sounds like you have your mind set on a gentle life on the river close to nature @movingman. Go for it get that boat, be great to see your transition to river life on here too 😊
The kitchen worktop i found in a woodyard called "interesting timbers" and it cost me £60 it also took me three days to plunge cut the hole, first with a chainsaw then slowly with a wood chissle for the sink!
But thats a differant story. .....

Wishing you a great day and thank you for the lovely comments too 😊

Missions! but i love wood and am carpenter by trade thats why i had to ask about it, then nice thing of vanlife is having the time to sit and chip away with a chisel :)

Oh yeh the boat thing will be for the high seas AAaaRr! Im in Norway on the edge of Oslo Fjord, and from here i could go even to south africa just following the coastlines. Want to get an old 80 to 100 ft ferry, not some tiny sailing boat! greenhouse and animals on it!

Im thinking for the years ahead, and ive realised the best place to actually still be truly free will be on water in say 5 years.
hihi we see, from what im reading about the future of technology, im not sure if ill even be wanting to get near land because of the 6 & 7 G, Smart grid etc and health effects.
Our generation has seen alot, and thats only a miniscul of the years to come hahaha.
I can be self sufficient on land but i dont want to be dependant on land if that makes sense :)

Great to meet ya on here! ill go roll a phat one and get on making a new post!

Alice is a beautiful truck @happysmileyman! I just wanna say mate your one high-class gypsy! In a good way though! I hope to continue your journey as you develop more with Alice!

Bless you @underthekiltfarm for such nice words. Funny because in my horoscope it acually reads "Your not one of lifes Gypsies, but if you ever chose to travel your home would be like a travelling palace". 😊 not acurate in the slightest 😂🤣

That is too cool!! This is a dream of mine but I need a bathroom n shower too! Lol

I go to the local sports leisure centre whenever i need a hot shower @luanne
I dream of having a truck one day big enough to have a bath in one day too😉

You definately get used to not having the shower. I remember we had a big trough and I'd boil water on the stockpot on the stove for a bath - the kid first, then me, then hubby and then swish out the door. Loved bath night.

Sounds so much fun too, i want a big trough now!!
I remember now in Devon on a friends piece of land there used to be a huge cast iron bath set just on its own outside just a little way down from a spring, to use it one connected the hose from the spring, filled it with water, light a fire underneath.
You had to guage it so the embers were just starting to cool when the water was hot. It was the only bath ive been in that had such a magnificent view under the stars at night, and the bonus was it got hotter the longer you were in there 😊

Right... watch this space... I have a bath story for you!!!

I'm disabled. But it's still my dream to find what I call a SmartV to live out of. I currently have an old Toyota Previa Van and I know there's a whole conversion movement for them but it would take a ton of work, most of which I'm not capable of. 😕. Her name's old lady. 2018-02-12-18-43-35.jpg

Great name "Old Lady" bless her and all who sail in her too 😊
Wishing you many wonderful adventures in her @luanne

Ty! I am quite fond of her! Just wish she was in better shape,!

Thats one grand undertaking. Now have you tried to condense the idea? Making it more universal. Vans, smaller box trucks. You have me wanting to buy an old RV and get it up and going.

I made a small teardrop trailer a few years ago @paulmoon heres a link to it
https://steemit.com/vanlife/@happysmileyman/teardrop-microlight-camper
You buy the old RV i will design the interior for you if you like 😊
Wishing you a brilliant day

What type of wood are you using to keep it light?

The teardrop i crafted mostly from lighweight pine and marine ply @paulmoon and the truck i own is a 7.5 tonne so i dont need to worry too much about the weight

Truck is pretty dang cool, but screwed up at the same time, steering wheel is in the wrong spot. Wasn't sure if you knew this so I thought I would bring it to your attention.

Your so observant @possumworks I totally forgot to mention that i installed a brand new concept tesla automation unit in the cab last week and now thiers really no need for a steering wheel or for me to be anywhere near the cab when its driving along. Now I can be in bed in the back, cup of tea in hand, doing 60 on the motorway, best thing is i get a wonderful draw on the burner too so win win all the way 😊

Well if you walk into my shop you would feel right at home, my shop and your van could be related. I really like it and appreciate the work you have done to turn a van into a home.

Bless you for such kind words @possumworks this means such a lot to me too
I would love to see the inside of your shop have you got any photos or a feature on here ? If you do post me a link to it below

Have a wonderful day mate beaming your way some happy smiles 😊😊😊😊

haha brilliant, that'd make you some millions if you could install those for travelling folk...

Millions..... Yes please @riverflows what a great idea 😊

Had the pleasure of sharing some time with mr happy smiley man and the bus :) Hi Jay ;)

Blessings to you Brother 😊

It looks so cosy and I love the personal touches that make it yours. Our vehicles are such expressions of our personalities. I love the raised bed - we used to have one in our TK too with clothes underneath. It's amazing how much stuff we can fit in a tiny space! I love the little 'om' above your bed. Thanks for sharing.

I love the luton above the cabs in the bedfords TKs they are so perfect for a big bed and to capture the heat from the burner at night.
Thank you for the kind words and the sharing of your wonderful memories too 😊
Wishing you a brillant day @riverflows

And you! We didnt sleep in the luton.. my son was 7 at time so he did. Plus it was cramped. We had raised bed at back instead.

It's always incredible to see someone who has the courage to just pack your bags and go cruising around and explore! Awesome post!

Thank you @clivalb its also just as incredible for me to discover, and connect with people like yourself that really apreciate what i do 😊

Wow Alice...
great Job on that one! Looks really cozy and mystical in there :)
YOur safe haven in the world, eh?
Just fell for the solar panels on top. Electricity while standing is a lux not many can understand <3

Cant wait to see and read more of you,
Id love to see some great spots you´ve been camping :))

All the best from germany,
johannes (:

Thank you @johannesburghart from just reading your message i can tell your very perceptive!. Well done, your right. It is my sanctuary.
Stay tuned i will be posting many beautiful photos from my collection and give you a window into my World, it will be my pleasure to share.
Wishing you happy smiles and a wonderfull day Johannes 😊😊😊

Looks like so much fun, doing this! Looks like a great way to travel! Upvoted :)

Bless you @crystalpacheco
Was great to read about your workouts on your page, keep it up 😊
Have a lovely day

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63750.99
ETH 3130.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95