Storing your coins on exchanges? I used to do that, too. I don't anymore... and here's why.steemCreated with Sketch.

in #altcoin7 years ago (edited)

Hi everyone,
I'm Ryan. I entered the world of cryptocurrencies in 2012 when Bitcoin was trading for around $130/ea. At that time, I knew next to nothing about the technology. I remember my thinking was it might become quite disruptive in the future, but it wasn't until about a year later that I began to believe there might be some value in investing in the tech. Of course, that was when Bitcoin had its massive rally to around $1200 or so and the alt coins started popping up daily. I remember seeing a coin called Sexcoin up by some absurd amount (3000% I believe) on CoinMarketCap. It fell sharply after, but it was enough to get me interested in speculating.

Regrettably, I did most of my trading at that time on Cryptsy

I'm sure you all know the story, but for those that do not, Cryptsy was a cryptocurrency exchange that was apparently hacked a couple years ago and they refrained from reporting the incident. This ultimately led to them shutting down the operation very abruptly once they realized they weren't getting the stolen coins back. Most of my alt-coin holdings (and probably many of yours, too) were lost when this happened. Fortunately for me, I had moved my Ethereum out of there at the last minute.

cryptsy.jpg

I am so absolutely, stupid effing lucky for having got my coins off that exchange. My speculation in alt-coins (namely Ethereum) helped my wife and I secure a 3% downpayment on our home in the Pacific Northwest last year. In hindsight, I would have held longer (as we all know Ethereum went through the roof this year), but I have no regrets. The recent rally has reasserted my confidence that there's still a lot of growth in this space and there's so many incredible ideas popping up daily.

Alt-coins have evolved far beyond "Bitcoin for X"

There's far too much cool tech here now for me not to jump back in for the long-haul. Last month, I began moving some of my remaining ETH into other alts such as PIVX, CLOAK, Aragon (and of course, STEEM!). However, I realized I was falling back into my same bad habit of storing coins on the exchanges again! At this point, I decided I would spend a day getting all/most of my holdings into a mix of encrypted flash drives and paper wallets.

So now all is well... or is it?

With this latest tumbling of the markets, It was clear my holdings were losing value, but I had no idea how much. After a few sessions of doing manual calculations, I decided I would throw together a simple web app to make my life easier. Enter MyCoinBag.

mycoinbag-bag.png

This is a simple site that pulls from the CoinMarketCap API and allows you to declare your holding(s). You only need a Google Account to use it and there are no effing ads. Yay! Hopefully it will make your life easier, too, and I'm all ears to suggestions on how you might like to see it improved.

Whether you use my app or not, please don't store your coins on the exchanges. It's easy to assume some of these sites are too big to fail. I get it. But it's hard to ignore that exchanges are a massive target with all that magic internet money they hold.

Sort:  

Wow, this is a very nice idea. But why make users have to login with google account? Couldn't there be some other way? Most steemit users most likely won't want to do that (including me)

The "top coins" listing is accessible without an account. I simply chose an identity provider that I assume most will have and this way I'm not having to store any user passwords. The app stores only a reference to your Google ID. However, having a way to access with your STEEMit account would be a great feature in my opinion. Is that what you would prefer? Or would you rather have a traditional username/password account? Thank you for the feedback!

Good post. Thanks for sharing

Followed ya

Took a break from crypto for a couple years came back to find out i was too late to file a claim on the cryptsy lawsuit, not that i would have gotten anything back. Those are the risks of exchanges.

Yea, I was actually kind of surprised. I used them for a few years without incident. Thanks for reading!

Congratulations @unrared! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You made your First Vote
You got a First Vote
You made your First Comment
You got a First Reply
Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Very nice images, I likes
I love to join steemit and to help earh other
#vote and follow you
Do not forget to follow me

Did you try the app?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63195.68
ETH 2615.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74