Returns From 9 Weeks of Investing in Low Cap Coins

in #altcoin7 years ago

So this started off initially as a 10 week long venture, but I had some technical problems and things got busy in life. Week 10 was going to be ION (https://ionomy.com/) if anybody wants to look into that one. It's a pretty unique coin!

First let's recap on what was gained or lost in USD value. I'll just make it a simple table, because I like tables. All of these values are based off of USD, not BTC gains and losses.

CryptocurrencyInitial PriceCurrent PriceChange
Gridcoin$0.058965$0.031620-46%
BitBay$0.020606$0.0206180%
WeTrust$0.122238$0.342136+180%
Vertcoin$0.581678$1.02+75%
SwarmCity$1.00$1.60+60%
Storj$0.371318$0.450987+21%
LBRY Credits$0.336843$0.210442-38%
Quantum Resistant Ledger$0.579788$0.537380-7%
RISE$0.143770$0.494731+244%

Which of these coins do I still like?

Out of these nine coins/tokens there are only two that I intend on keeping and continuing to follow. I don't feel like any of these are bad projects, they just don't fit into what I personally consider a long term hold. Here's what I still like and why.

Vertcoin

So the atomic swaps happend this past week. I hope I didn't confuse anybody and make them believe that atomic swaps were going to be unique to Vertcoin. When I re-read my original Vertcoin post it kind of seemed like that was what I was saying. So far that I have read there have been atomic swaps including Bitcoin, Litecoin, Decred, Vertcoin and at least one other (Komodo maybe? I don't remember). These atomic swaps will continue to add new cryptocurrencies over the next weeks and months.

Vertcoin still has the ASIC resistant mining and the stealth addresses that they are working on. If Bitcoin is the gold, and Litecoin is the silver, maybe Vercoin can be the copper... or tungsten. The way I see it as being. Bitcoin is a $50 bill, Litecoin is a $1 bill, and Vertcoin is a penny. Pennies don't get used as much as dollars but they still get used. I expect some day there will be a wallet with all three (or maybe an atomic swap wallet) and they will all have value. This is why I will keep passively buying Vertcoin.

Rise

Rise has quickly become one of my favorite coins. When I invest in things, I absolutely make an emotional decision. If I get a gut feeling about a certain coin and if the vision looks good, I take a gamble on it. I say gamble because if you are putting a large amount of money into anything that hasn't been pre-established it is a big risk. The Rise team does their work privately and doesn't continually update Github. This alone isn't enough to drive me away. So I joined their slack and talked to community members, delegates, investors and various team members. I still had my gut feeling so I jumped into it full bore. So they have been added to my main holdings.

The rewards from the Delegated Proof of Stake from Rise are excellent. The team is actually working on things and they have just recently added two new developers and are looking to add other team members. What hasn't come to fruition yet are the airdrops from the incubator, but it's an exciting concept to get free coins from a startup cryptocurrency just by holding Rise in my wallet. There are a great bunch of people on the Slack channel that can help you with just about any problem you need and everybody is willing to help in any way that they can.

So what's next for me on Steemit?

I didn't like focusing on ONLY low cap coins for so long. There are sill many in the top 50 that I don't know a lot of details about. So what I'm going to start off with is a bit more in depth posts on my favorite coins. I'm going to try not to make them too long but I will add a bit more info on the teams. I'm also going to randomly do posts about other coins as I read and see what I like.

And of course, I will be giving away crypto every time I post about a cryptocurrency here on Steemit.

In the next few weeks I will be posting about my five main coins.

  • Dash
  • Ark
  • Ardor
  • Rise
  • NEM

Sort:  

Hey welcome back :)
I am looking forward to your descriptions about Dash, Ark, Ardor, Rise, NEM.
I like them all as well ;)
Oh and thanks again for the Rise giveaway, it seems I had quite some luck with it :D
have a nice week ;)

Excellent report. I would like to get in contact with you and talk about possibilities of cooperation in fields of fundamental research and technical analysis. If you are interested, follow this link, it will take to Slack, that is chosen platform for my project.
https://join.slack.com/t/wmw-hunters/shared_invite/enQtMjQ1MjMxNzYxMzAzLWRlYmYwMTVhYzYzZmUyYjk0Mzg0YTA2NTNiMWJhZjM2YjJiYzM1MWQzYzVjZDQ2ZWExM2M1MzYyNTQ2OTBiNGM

This post has received a 2.92 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @oregonpop.

I was just going to randowhale this for you and seen you already have :)

Great post by the way.

Thank you for the heads up on vertcoin! Paying dividends.

Hell yeah! I initially bought 10k VTC at around 50-60 cents, donated 1000 to the dev team around $1, but got rid of most of the rest. Still pretty happy and super glad for the Vertcoin community. They're really cool and the devs are top notch.

My bag isn't nearly that large, but bought in at $1 after your recommendation. Very happy to see the ongoing success.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 57396.91
ETH 2446.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41