Sort:  

I really like the concept of using ready-made mass produced battery operated single board computers (smartphones) for distributed computation, but I do not have any retired smartphones in my circle yet.

The update from buttonphones to touchphones was delayed as much as possible due to their pool suitability. I missed the opportunity to use my previous smartphone, it failed violently. Last year the last buttonphone from my circle was decommissioned and given to me, so they are still holding up, but hopefully the batteries of first wave start dying soon and the update cycle begins.

I got 2 accident smartphones with a crack in the screen that made the screen unresponsive thus rendered them useless in what they are intended to do ("bricked"). So instead of throwing them away, I plugged a mouse in with a micro usb to standard usb adapter and set them up to BOINC 24/7 and placed them on a stone window sill, the touchscreen disperses heat nicely in the stone, so the battery never overheats and throttling is out of the question.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58522.98
ETH 3089.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41