The Top 8 Altcoin Cryptocurrencies To Buy in 2018

in #altcoin6 years ago (edited)

As Cryptocurrencies are still under valued, there are a lot of good coins to invest in. Here are the top 8 Altcoins I'll be investing in during the early stages of 2018.

The 8 Best Altcoins To Buy in 2018

#1 OmiseGO (OMG)

OmiseGo is a mobile payment solution focusing on the developing world. Primarily South East Asian countries.


The team working on OmiseGo has years of experience in the digital payments space. OmiseGo also has Vitalik Buterin, the Founder of Ethereum, as on of its key advisers.

Why I'm investing: I've been living in South East Asia as an Expat for some time. Currently I am in Vietnam. I can tell you, there is definitely a need for this technology here and in the other South East Asian countries I have visited.

The vast majority of people in many South East Asian countries don't have bank accounts. Many people here understand and trust apps far more than they do banks.

What they do have are cell phones. virtually everyone has a cell phone here. It is the first purchase one makes when able. OmiseGo appears to understand the market, sees the need, and has the expertise to bring mobile banking to South East Asia.

#2 Ripple (XRP)

Ripple is connecting the world's financial institutions using Blockchain technology.


Ripple already has many large financial institutions as members including UBS and American Express.

Why I'm investing: Ripple is working within the existing financial structure, and incorporating Blockchain technology with existing banking technologies like SWIFT. This should allow Ripple to rapidly expand its footprint in the financial sector with little resistance from financial institutions or regulators.

The only draw back I see is that it is a centralized Blockchain and I personally prefer decentralized Blockchain technologies. With that in mind, I can't ignore the advantages of working within the current financial structure to speed up adoption.

#3 IOTA (MIOTA)

IOTA provides a fast and free payment solution for people and the the Internet of Things.


The Developers of IOTA have looked at Blockchain technology and its limitations and developed Tangle technology to address these issues.

Why I'm investing: Tangle is a very interesting decentralized technology. I like the focus on keeping the network decentralized, fast, and free. IOTA also allows for smart objects/things to communicate on the network without the need for human intervention.

IOTA could revolutionize how individuals and companies collect and sale data acquired by sensors and other smart gadgets. The IOTA network is also Quantum secure which means it wont be susceptible to attacks from the Quantum Super Computers of the future.

#4 Golem (GNT)

Golem is a decentralized network of computers which creates a wold-wide super computer.


Golem is interesting because it provides use for the increase of computing power that has accompanied the advancements of Blockchain technologies outside of mining coins.

Why I'm investing: There are still many more coins that will be mined. There could also be a transition happening from Proof of work to other systems like Proof of stake.

In any event, creating new decentralized uses for the recent advancements in computing power, such as AI development, is an important next step .

#5 WaBi (WABI)

WaBi is a technology which prevents fraud by utilizing Blockchain and RFID technologies


WaBi allows users to verify the authenticity of a product, prior to purchase , with their smart phone.

Why I'm investing: As I mentioned before, I currently live in Asia. There is a huge problem with counterfeiting here in Vietnam. I know from reports that the problem is even worst in China where WaBi is being developed.

Recently, counterfeit baby formula was sold throughout China making many babies sick. This kind of thing can't continue, and WaBi seems a well design solution to this issue.

#6 Monero (XMR)

Monero is a Cryptocurrency which focuses on security and privacy

With Moreno you can move small or large sums of money without worrying about your transaction being monitored by individuals or governments.


Why I'm investing: As the world is becoming more connect, privacy is becoming more important. Moreover, we should have the option of freedom from government monitoring our every financial decision. This issue is compounded in countries like China where the government puts limits on how much money you can move out of the country.

#7 SALT (SALT)

SALT is a lending service which uses Cryptocurrencies as collateral.


SALT allows you to borrow fiat currency in exchange for holding your Cryptocurrency

Why I'm investing: As Cryptocurrencies gain in value, its important that we find new ways to leverage that value. Borrowing against Cryptocurrency is a great way to do just that. I'm investing in SALT because I plan to use it in the not so distant future.

#8 Steem (STEEM)

Steem is the cryptocurrency used by Steemit, the social network you are on right now!


Steemit is a social network build on Blockchain technology that focuses on quality content instead of advertising.

Why I'm investing: This is my very first contribution to the Steemit network, but I like its mission, and I think it has the potential to revolutionize content creation.

I feel that as more people join the Steemit platform, we will see it grow in quality and see the STEEM coin grow in value. I'm excited to see what the future holds for this interesting platform.

What do you think? Do you agree with my list? What are your to investments for 2018? please let me know if the comments.
Sort:  

Hello friends, how are you
Thank you good friends to meet you
the best and amazing
Nice to Meet You All #steemians
My name is yusrizal Account name @rizal.aceh Comes from aceh Sumatra
I Say Welcome And Happy To You Here #steemit or # eSteem.
Do not Forget Follow Me Also @rizal.aceh
I would like to express my gratitude.

I like your choices but I think Verge coin should be on there as well. I believe there is a good to fair chance that it will replace Monero. It has gone up by 800% in just a few days and is staying strong.
I recently wrote an article asking that question. If you have a second check it out and let me know what you think.

https://steemit.com/altcoin/@roadsuntraveled/verge-vs-monero-the-ultimate-showdown-who-will-win-the-darknet-contract

P.S.

EOS for the win!! :-P

Thanks for the tip on Verge. I'll check out your post to learn more.

Steem is best :)

So far so good. Steem seems a good use of the Blockchain

Congratulations @cryptoshogun! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got a First Reply

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @cryptoshogun! You received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit

Click here to view your Board of Honor

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @cryptoshogun! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!
Loading...
Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 69394.55
ETH 3894.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73