Howdy Steemit! - @mericanhomestead introduced me!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #almost-famous7 years ago

profile_varif.jpg

Salutations Steemians!

My name is James & Hello from Oregon!

I'm a fairly new user, I have been here for about a month, but I'm just getting around to my introduction. It took me a while to write this, because writing about myself is probably my worst subject. So here it goes:

First, I'd like to thank @mericanhomestead for introducing us to the amazing Steemit community! Before them, I thought STEEM was just another cryptocurrency.
(Check out their website for even more awesome content: https://anamericanhomestead.com/)

me

A little about me:

Formost I'm a crypto-nut. I love collecting, mining, & earning cryptocurriencies! I have a day job, but thats to pay the bills, & doesn't leave much left over for non-necessities. So I mine & earn whatever I can online. Every moment I'm not focused on a task, I'm thinking about cryptocurriencies in some way. Mostly STEEM now since its one I can actually use & not just an arbituary store of value.

together with her

I have a wonderful fiancée, who's supportive, but has no interest in cryptocurrencies. However, I was able to convince her to join Steemit. She's a highly reviewed professional dog trainer starting her own independent business. So I'm excited to see what she posts. (IF her account ever gets approved.)

We have a shared interest in homesteading. We feel we have become too dependant on society to provide, what we could do for ourselves. Who really knows what the long term effects of all those perseritives & colors are anyway?

horse-cropped.jpg

Tiny homes are an interest too. Who doesn't like the idea of "cleaning house" taking only 10 minutes? When you think about it, we typically live with a lot of stuff. How much of that stuff do you actually need, & of that, how much of it could be stored away? When you boil it down to the essientals, I don't think we need even half as much space as we normally do.

I have 2 dogs, a cat, a ferret, & a fish. We love our pets & our pets love us. (The fish is a survivor from the aquaponics experiment, maybe I'll write more about that another day.)

That's about 90% of who I am. I'll leave the other 10% for future posts, so you'll just have to keep reading!

Thank you!

Thank you for reading & commenting. Keep STEEM'n!

Sort:  

New Followers get 0.001 SBD$ and an upvote for free!!

Just follow @steemvote and...

  • we follow back
  • send you 0.001 SBD to your wallet
  • upvote your newest posting

Howdy James, welcome to Steemit, enjoy :-)

Welcome to Steem @agilblade I have upvoted and sent you a tip

Congratulations @agilblade! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the total payout received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Welcome to the Steemit community @selfbuiltcamper! Are you and your fiancee off grid with your homestead?

A couple of tips, ignore the automated bots, they do nothing for you and just earn from your votes.

We love original content! Many other newcomers try to cheat with copy and paste from other websites.

Be patient with building an audience. Steemit is not get rich quick scheme. It is about the people the relationships you build here.

For many new people, the voting and points system seems complicated at first. Here is an excellent post and entertaining video about how it all works.
https://steemit.com/steemit/@sethlinson/announcing-steemit-explained-a-new-animated-series

Welcome aboard and full Steem ahead! =)

We aren't off grid yet, but that's the plan! We have the land but nothing else. No savings yet either, getting out from under bills. So, it may be slow, but we should have some good stories in our future! I already follow @sethlinson. Love the animations, I actually used them to convince my fiancée. I'm looking forward to more in that series. :)

A friend of mine is off grid. It's taken him a few years. He still has a way to go. But brick by brick.
I'm looking forward to the series also. It gives me a way to better explain it to others.

Congratulations @agilblade! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

hello Agilblade ;) Glad to see more people like you - here joining steemit !! Becoming a steamian is a great adventure ! Here you can win money while bloging! At the beginning it wouldn't be easy, but it isn't impossible. So just write from your heart and everything will be allright. Wish you much luck! Cheers! Wish you much luck! Greetings, @khunpoom!

Better late than never. Or is it still early?

Still early. :) Welcome! Thanks for joining and helping the community grow. It's great that your fiancee is on board too!

A new Steemian :-) hello @agilblade I hope you enjoy your time here, its a great community ! Nice post, Wish you much luck! I will follow your account. Don't hesitate to contact or follow me at any time :-) See you around @tradewonk

Welcome on Steemit @agilblade! I'm gald you re-use that funny almost-famous tag.

Steem on and have fun!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63211.44
ETH 2631.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71