You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Allyship Sunday: Ally Is A Verb

in #allyship6 years ago

Yes! Important subject and glad you are writing about it.

Being an ally should not be a scary thing because you believe you're not 'a good enough one'. It's about wanting to be one, examining your knowledge, wanting to learn, getting better everyday. It's a lot of work indeed :-)

Sometimes I'm appalled by the strictness some activists ask from allies and I understand why people are put off and never dare to speak about any subject again. Some of the WOKE people forget they had to wake up too at some point :-) It took me quite some years to 'wake up' and sometimes I get confronted by something that I was still quite unaware off.

It's a life long process and that's totally fine :-)

Sort:  

I think an important distinction to remember is that when activists are assholes, they aren't assholes because they're activists. They're assholes because every group has assholes. And even the most progressive groups have every kind of person.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 61615.30
ETH 2674.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.60