Alligator in the water

in #alligator6 years ago (edited)

Last evening I went for a bike ride down to a park where there is a rather large reservoir. I did not have my Canon camera with me, but just my phone. As I was relaxing a bit after my strenuous bike ride, I noticed something in the water: an alligator!

20180406_184859-01.jpeg

I was able to get one shot of it as it was swimming away and one shot of it as it swam to a shady part of the reservoir (not completely clear but you can still see it's eyes and ridges in it's neck).

20180406_184812-01.jpeg

It looks as if the alligator was 5 - 6 feet long. Seeing an alligator is quite common in Florida because of the immense amount of swamp land and bodies of water. The alligator had to be a younger alligator, for adult gators range between 11 - 15 feet in length, while a female ranges between 7 - 9 feet in length.

What was pretty cool is a couple of instances the gator dove under the surface, but there was another alligator somewhere in the reservoir (I could not see it) making loud mating noises, so the gator would come back up to the surface every time the noise was made.

Alligators will rarely attack humans, unless they feel threatened. So yeah, I didn't go near it. I'm hoping to go back this week with my Canon camera to get some clearer shots. Fingers crossed!

Nature is pretty awesome.

@jgullinese

Sort:  

Be carefull brother @jgullinese, alligator is very danger to us, in my hometown north aceh district, many river have so many danger alligator that have killed child and women, they attack them suddenly and quickly, thanks for your sharing to us valuable and usefull article, i have resteem your post to more than 1818 my follower in order to make more people aware about alligator danger, thanks for your kind and support to me

I have never seen a gator in the wild but it is always a rush to see a great predator in there natural habitat. Great pics.

Yes, it is a pretty awesome thing to come in contact with one, but I would also suggest steering clear of them. You have just as much risk dealing with the cattle you see on a daily occurence.

Nice photography bro plzz follow me

Alligator is wild and danger animal, alligator many find in river or lake, you must be carefull when you swiming in river or lake, its can kill us, thank you very much mr @jgullinese, i vote and resteem your post...

Hello, you go for a walk, you relax and you find a beautiful image to make a great click that is wonderful, a greeting from Venezuela!

Nature always keeps many people in awe.

You got a 5.41% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @jgullinese!

Want to promote your posts too? Check out the Steem Bot Tracker website for more info. If you would like to support the development of @postpromoter and the bot tracker please vote for @yabapmatt for witness!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 67584.80
ETH 3438.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70