You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steemit Basic Income Giveaway (Your country)

in #alldutchenglish6 years ago

Oh boy... I'm only just catching up on my replies....

I'm not so up to date on American History, so I had to go and look up what your Bill of Rights was about... and that was a long read and a rabbit hole of interesting ideas to follow... now I'm behind again on commenting! But thanks for introducing me to that, I only had a vague passing knowledge of it!

I wonder about the level of partisanship in your country, and I wonder if it is a product of the size of the country (Population). After a certain mass of people (and area, I guess), you are always going to a people who are displeased with one side or another or a third... it's just impossible to keep everyone happy enough without binding against a common enemy. Although I doubt (I hope) that another Civil War would be possible?

Sort:  

Well shoot, now that gives me an idea for a series... Explaining parts of life in the USA to the rest of the world. Sorry for your lost time, but thanks for the inspiration!

I think anything past a few hundred and you're bound to have irreconcilable differences between groups of people. It just feels like the gap is particularly wide in the USA, with fewer and fewer people falling in the center and more and more moving to opposite ends of the political spectrum.

Hah! It will be a useful guide to learning more about and humanising our imperial overlords!

Ha ha, just kidding, but you do sure do some things in a very different way over there!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 64439.19
ETH 2775.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64