Runaway Convict

in #alldutchcreations6 years ago (edited)

{This post is a part of the "AllDutchCreations" Contest by @alldutchcreation. Click here to see the contest.}

Source of the image here

I don't know how long I have been running, but all I do know is that my mates are dead, I still have my gold-bars and there's a damn chopper after me. It's incredible that I'm still running but without a clue where I was heading. In front of me now was a forest that I can dash into; maybe if I slip in fast enough the next helicopter swoop won't detect me and my destination, but I jinxed it of course.

Damn chopper was peppering me like it hadn't seen me in ages and wanted to make sure I won't forget it any time soon. Even after entering the forest, it switched to heavier rounds and started shredding trees just to score a kill on me, but I hustled and spotted a shack to slip into. Taking my chances after the chopper randomly started to swerve the opposite direction I was heading, I bolted towards it. I crossed the fallow fields and jumped over the wooden wall into the wooden shack.

I was panting heavily, but I thought I was safe. Until I heard something inside panting, and not even attempting to be in my tempo as well. Worse, the chopper decided to swerve to my area and hover it as well, making it impossible to even hear it in the darkened shack. So, I decided to reload my pistol and try to adjust my eyes to the dark, that's when I saw a shambler in the shack. Those four-arm ex-humans have been broadcasted heavily around the cities recently, giving the Government an easy excuse to ramp up their militarized-police efforts and the Insurrectionists a new avenue to expand their growing dissent. Yet, what mattered now was I saw it and it gazed back at me; we haven't flinched for who knows how long.

Then the Government MPs decided to land on the roof of this very shack, shaking it violently to mark their heavy-armored presence, and the shambler screeched violently in return. It lounged towards me, I decided to duck down and towards an open space. This payed off as it broke open the wooden wall and crashed into the farmlands, making a loud thud and explosion to attract the attention of the MPs away from this shack. The shambler scampered across the floor and decided to lounge back into the shack before being pelted with a barrage of bullets to its rotting body.

The shambler lay dead only a few moments later and I managed to hid myself in a tight, discrete spot. The MPs confirmed the death, decided not to investigate the area as no other shamblers appeared and exfiltrated out of the area after torching the carcass. I was a lucky man to still have my body, gold-bars and bullets intact, but I felt dread that shamblers manifested themselves in these parts here. But I guess that gave me purpose to get away as fast as possible, somewhere quiet from all this.

Other parts of the Series

@theironfelix - The Rebel Compound
@theironfelix - What remained after

Cited posts:

@alldutchcreation - "Week 5"

Cited images

A photo of a field taken by @alldutchcreation

Sort:  

Thank you for your entry @theironfelix
Tomorrow we will announce the winner!

Have a great day!

@alldutchcreation

Welcome, and have a great day as well.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.14
JST 0.028
BTC 58603.60
ETH 2628.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45