Chrysalis - The Pupa Stage of Butterflies - A Time To Transform

in #nature7 years ago (edited)


swallowchrys2.JPG

Butterflies do not spin cocoons as some people think.
Instead they shed their last skin and it hardens and becomes the outer shell of the chrysalis. The shedding process is called molting.


SwallowCatBranch.JPG


When a butterfly caterpillar is ready to pupate it spins a silk girdle which it uses to attach itself to the stem of a plant and it's body forms a C shape. See above photo.


swallowchrys2.JPG


ChrysalisBest.JPG


The above are Eastern Black Swallowtail Chrysalis Photos.
Aren't they beautiful?
I love the intricate shades of brown and at the very bottom you can see the last skin that was shed(it's still attached) before this caterpillar transformed into the chrysalis stage!
The ones I put in my butterfly tent this summer had lots of parsley to eat.
Also I placed several sticks for them to attach themselves onto when the time was right!
Sometimes these chysalises are green.


ButterflyTent.JPG


Looks like I will have 3 swallowtail chrysalises spending the winter on my back porch in my butterfly tent shown above. I have read that eastern black swallowtails have 2-3 generations a year and then an overwintering generation.


It's a time to wait for something special in the spring and just as the first flowers bloom, these butterflies will emerge!


violetmed150.jpg


Photos by me @violetmed in my yard.

Sort:  

It's very interesting to breed butterflies. For me this is something new, I did not know about the process. Thank you for your enlightenment.

Thank you, I'm so glad you learned something!

Transformation into celestial beauty. So do we need to become beautiful as butterflies - in our spirit.

Yes, we should become beautiful in our spirit. I agree!

Wow .interestinga to read it .and for splended pictures 👍 @violetmed

Wow, really awesome! We have a lot of caterpillars around. I just thought yesterday I should capture some of them and put them somewhere that we can watch them and see what they turn into! :) Great idea to have a butterfly tent. Cool pics!! Thanks for sharing!

Yes @apanamamama, just make sure you keep plenty of fresh leaves from the plant they are eating in with the caterpillars and like I said provide some sticks for them to crawl up on to transform into a chrysalis. You and your kids would get a kick out of it!. When the butterflies emerge I always set them free!

Really cool and great idea to get some of the leaves they are chomping on. May have to look for some tomorrow. They are usually everywhere around here!

Congratulations @violetmed! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

You have collected your daily Power Up! This post received an upvote worth of 1.85$.
Learn how to Power Up Smart here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63135.01
ETH 2546.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64