[Steempay] Community feedback wants SteemPay to continue, so it will!

in #steempay8 years ago

Many people keep asking my why I abandon SteemPay. Truth be told, I'm not.

Maybe my last post was unclear, or people could have assumed I abandoned it for loosing my top 19 witness spot. But once again, I'm not.

I never intended to leave SteemPay, I only intended to suspend the frontend services due to a combination of factors, including the implementation of STEEM/SBD by CoinPayments - something I fully support.

I admit being frustrated lately for several reasons, but I should separate business from emotions.

Insert community feedback

Everywhere I'd go on steemit.chat people keep pinging me about it. On the very thin edge of annoying me about it. But it made me think. I've put so many times and hours into SteemPay to give this community the first payment processor, it would make no sense to suspend the service. People supported, followed, upvoted, and talked to me because of this project, how selfish can I be to suspend it now?

SteemPay does not belong to me, it belongs to you!

Therefore, SteemPay will not suspend it's frontend services and will continue to be updated.

Don't drink and drive

Is the equivalent of "Don't code while having emotional issues". I've made some mistakes with severe consequences, like the bug found in the SteemPay WOO plugin. Maybe I've been pushing myself too much.

I'm only human like everyone around here (except bots... Hello @wang!), so errors like that can happen. But what makes me human, is daring to admit I've made some mistakes lately and learn from them.

Keep it Steeming!

Sort:  

I have supported you since I found out about your work. I believe in you even despite mistakes.
When there was all the fuss about the bug a week ago I made comments of support because I know you are a capable and honorable guy.
This post only seems to prove that more IMO.
Take care of your self. You are no good to anyone if you don't!
Blessings on the way~*~

Glad to hear you're keepin' on Steve.

Shit happens, Such is coding. If you need a hand testing stuff in the future let me know. I'm not the best at PHP but I know enough to get by. Always willing to help someone willing to help STEEM.

Wonderful News! I am so happy!

I admire your work @steve-walschot
Definitely not easy creating that stuff. Best of luck to you with it and I hope you're going well. :)

So, is this why I embarrassed myself setting up your button, which transfers the money just fine, but won't forward people to the download page? Your button doesn't work. Is it turned off, somehow, not properly built, or is it the URL I 'm sending to. It goes through the motions, and as I said, transfers funds, but that's worthless if no one can get the product.

You can always find me in steemit.chat so i'll take a look at your specific issue.
SteemPay currently handles +/- 250 transactions per day, and all of them are working.

Not all of them. I conducted two and got no redirect to my target page. The money moved from account to account, but if they can't get to my product page, it's useless.

BTW, you might not mention the coinpayments option. You can't even use it in a steemit post because of the form input lines in their code. So, I guess I can't sell my books for steemit until I come up with my own option. good to know

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60482.94
ETH 2613.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63