Lyn Ulbricht Embodies what it means to be a Mother

in #anarchy8 years ago (edited)

12316352_629847869833_3592348035247274548_n

Lyn Ulbricht and I at Porcfest 2015

I cannot be happier that Lyn Ulbricht was able to join the Steemit community and be rewarded for the value her courage has added to this broken world. She will need those funds to continue putting up the good fight.

But that is expected and necessary, because her story and character are beyond reproach.

She embodies what it means to be a mother. She has decided to take a harrowing path in order to fight for her son. And at all costs, she has waged a war against the injustices of the system for the sake of Ross. Nothing makes me more proud than to live during a time where this kind of sacrifice and love has manifested itself in concert will the whole of our push for global freedom.

(For anyone unfamiliar with Ross's Silk Road case, you need to know that Ross was sentenced to life in prison for running the website the Silk Road, in which he was considered a drug kingpin, although he didn't handle any of the drugs associated with the allegations. For more information see this video by Lyn explaining why Ross was not given a fair trial).

I was lucky enough to watch Lyn deliver a speech at Porcfest 2015 in New Hampshire, where I learned everything about the gruesome details of the Silkroad trial. Before she explained emotionally heavy facts of the story, I had no idea the extent of the State's corruption and brutality. I figured it was bad, but not so obviously evil as she expressed.

I met her in person after the speech. Her and I had an immediate connection. I told her about my own story and how I could deeply empathize with what happened to Ross. I was also kidnapped by state thugs for conspiracy and drug charges. I was just lucky enough to wiggle myself free from their grasp.

Here I want to share a letter I wrote for Ross a few months back that expressed my sentiments in totality, as well as my thoughts about Ross's future. The letter was originally appeared on www.bitcoin.com, and eventually sent to Ross himself in prison.


 

Free Ross

My letter to Ross published on December 14, 2015.


Dear Ross,

We are kindred souls. You and I share much in common. We were both raised in a similar place. But more poignantly, we have shared traumatic experiences. And though these experiences are not exactly identical, I can empathize with some of what you have endured. I too was a victim of the drug war. I have felt the cold steel of the State’s gun pressed against my temple. I have seen the inside of a jail, but I was just lucky to break free of those fetters, thanks to family, friends, and a bit of good fortune.

But even through my experiences, I never mustered your courage. I did not commit my “wrongdoing” on principle. I was just a kid doing kid things. I was immature and rash of heart. What you did was heroic, beautiful even. You actively sought to subvert political slavery. You wanted to experiment with sovereignty and share its pleasures with everyone; and in my eyes, you accomplished this task. You adhered to philosophy. You navigated your plan through the Silk Road with the end goal of making the world a better place.

We cannot yet fathom the full scope of your project, but it has already shaped the lives of thousands. It has affected the way people conceptualize free markets, and already etched itself in the annals of history. Many people have followed your lead, because your actions were ones of principled liberty.

I wish I would have exercised this same conviction and honor. I wish I would have been as ideological and brave at the time of my misdeed. I wouldn’t have doubted the virtue of my actions. That is why you have my lifelong allegiance. I will always support your cause with every fiber of my being, even if you question whether your own actions were good.

I had the pleasure of meeting your mother, Lyn. She let me know your actions were just. A mother may indeed be biased toward her son, but a mother’s love also betrays the innocence within her son’s heart.

She spoke at Porcfest and I witnessed her eloquently unravel the secrets of the kangaroo court you received. Your mother delivered your truth with such spirited fervor and passion that I was blown away. Her ire for your predicament was palpable. I knew through her voice that you did not deserve your fate. You were dealt a great injustice. But she laid the truth on the table.

I wept at the pinnacle of the speech. Her words brought all of my memories bubbling to the surface. At that point, I knew I would become a loyal supporter of you and your family. Her words allowed me to relive my experiences and vaguely comprehend your struggle. It inspired me.

After the presentation, I spoke with her for a moment off stage. I told her a little about my past legal troubles, as well as the activism I am involved in. I told her I was only loosely familiar with your situation until she clarified it.

We met again the next day, and I purchased a shirt from her. We spoke more about your trial, and about what I intend to do to help. It was a bittersweet conversation. Your mom’s heart weighed heavy. I saw your pain mirrored in her eyes. I felt a cascade of emotions surge through me, and she recognized them. Lyn said she saw something in me, and that I stood out. We bonded deeply in that moment. I will never forget our exchange.

I left Porcfest knowing I wanted to do more for you and liberty. I returned home and I started writing more ardently. I created my own activist web page to help educate people about freedom and Bitcoin. I did this in part thanks to you and your mother’s courage. To this day, I talk to everyone about your situation. I wear your shirt in public and start conversations. I take selfies with it and share it online. I implore people to consider the good you did. I do what I can to rally the population to your defense. I want to rise to your level of courage and honor, especially since I feel your pain reflected in my past.

And like many have said in their letters, I do not feel you will be locked forever away and forgotten. I believe someone will take notice of the grievous injustice you experienced. Some, I believe, already have. Your mom posted this quotation on the Free Ross Facebook page:

“IF ONLY 10% OF WHAT LYN SAID ABOUT THE TRIAL AND THE EVENTS LEADING UP TO THE TRIAL ARE TRUE, THERE SHOULD BE A REVERSAL. AS A FORMER PROSECUTOR, I AM APPALLED AT WHAT THE FEDERAL GOVERNMENT HAS DONE TO ROSS.”
I hope this news, as well as my empathy, compassion, and hope finds you well and unhurt. I hope you are being treated with the dignity and decency you deserve. You are a blessing to the world, and may the world never forget. I will not.

Sincerely,

Sterlin Luxan

screen-shot-2014-09-05-at-5-40-24-pm

A Photo of Ross taken from coindesk.com

Follow Lyn at the links below

Here are all her links, including the Steemit post at the top.

https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@rossulbricht/lyn-ulbricht-mother-of-silk-road-political-prisoner-ross-ulbricht-is-now-on-steemit'

https://freeross.org/

Free Ross Facebook Page

Sort:  

End the war on drugs!

Free Ross!

Down with the Federal Gov..

hey, who's knocking on the door?

Sterlin, You are more than kind and your support means so much to me and to Ross. I missed seeing you at porcfest this year. I hope our paths cross again very soon. Lyn

Lyn, have you thought of doing regular--maybe weekly or so--updates to Steem? You could duplicate content from your site, or simply share what Ross thought of your debut on Steem and how your INTRODUCEYOURSELF was received here. What was his reaction? What do you need help with in the coming months? What are your next goals. I think you will continue to be well received, and get more followers as they see you.

I plan to. I already have one brewing in my mind. Ross thought my posting on steemit was great, but I wasn't able to explain it as well as I wanted to, so we sent him the white paper and the comments.

Here is a donation button for @rossulbricht


Please help #freeross <3

Kind regards,
Optimistic

This is really cool, Sterlin. You never cease to amaze.

Thanks a lot, Scribe. It was an amazing experience meeting Ms. Ulbricht and learning more details about the shitty hand that Ross got dealt by the State.

Interesting!

There is NOTHING a mother will not do for her children. I wish Lyn resolution and peace.

I agree. What she is doing so the pinnacle of courageousness and love

Sterlin you're a great freedom fighter and friend. Meeting people like you is the silver lining in this ordeal. I look forward to the day you can meet Ross in freedom. Thank you for all your support.

No problem Lyn. I can't wait until that day. And I believe it will be sooner than later. Thanks for doing everything you do. I am here for whatever support you may need.

Can you link to Ms. Ulbricht's main page, or at least an article by her so the rest of us can follow her, perhaps...?

Yes sir. I sure can. Give me a moment.

Thanks, mate :)

No problem! Thanks for letting me know. That was important.

great post!
it's nice to see everyone giving her such a warm welcome~~
upvoted!!

Thanks a lot, doit. Means a bunch.

Lyn Ulbricht Embodies what it means to be a Mother

The asphalt also embodies what it is to be a street

The cat also embodies what it is to be a mammal

Water is wet, so here is the mother of a famous person that went through some taugh times, springled with sensationalist words.

Shower me with your shekels minions!

cynical as heck bro

@heretickitten

you know is true, but oh boy don't we all need those trendy shekels....

It was interesting to read. Well the problem is described. The material is presented correctly. Post deserves attention. I want to re-read to familiarize yourself with the individual parts of the post. It sets out clearly and intelligibly. The problem outlined in the post appears clearly to our consciousness. Thank you for having clearly shown that this is the case. We had to get acquainted with it and know more about .
It is important that interested STEEM

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59449.45
ETH 2406.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43