False Accusations of Plagiarism?steemCreated with Sketch.

in #plagiarism8 years ago

Someone has brought to my attention that they think all my posts are stolen and considered plagiarism. This is not a bad thing because it makes me want to change my header I have been using. it was a screen shot of a pict that I stuck in a meme maker and altered. Not a biggie. I can do better and maybe his fee fees wont be so hurt.

It leaves me with a lot of questions also.
He flaged a couple of my posts and reported them to steemcleaners and he flagged them too. The links he is saying I copy and pasted does not have any text he is saying I copied. Just screen shots of definitions.

https://steemit.com/life/@skeptic/10-things-you-should-never-do-in-an-argument
https://steemit.com/life/@skeptic/10-more-things-you-should-never-do-in-an-argument
So maybe this post will be considered plagiarism for my screen shots again.

Obviously a lot of the pictures are screenshots of definitions

from different sites. Is this snippit plagiarism?

Also if the screen shot is of something that is free

is that a problem? What if you type something into google image and it is one of the first to pop up in a steemit color?

Is it wrong for me to take a screen shot of a pict off google for refrence?

Everything I typed out was my own work.


Claiming my post is copy pasta and reporting it to steemleaners but never actually supplying any links to text That you are claim I copied from? Just a site that is the equivalent of a dictionary of fallacys that I took screen shots of to post under my text.

If I need to start posting links to everything in all screenshots I take please let me know. besides posting links to stuff does not cover you, you need permission from the creator if we are trying to say this does not fall under fair use. I have never once claimed the picts were made by me.

Yeah, what about fair use? they are snippits single frames, not full video. What about memes? does all of this not fall under fair use?

All input is welcomed as to what I should do to make my steemit experience better. I do not feel my posts are plagiarism but I do accept that I might be wrong. After I figure out if I am in the right or wrong I will decide if I should try to get steemcleaners to remove all the flags.

Thanks for putting up with all my questions. I need input to help myself understand the situation fully.
8D
100%Steempower

Sort:  

Honestly - you seem to be good to go, just make sure you cite references when applicable.

For example - The post you have with the Einstein picture quote. Wherever you found that (even if on google images) click the view image link and include that web address as your image source by doing the below format.
[Image Source](https://example.pic.com
Use this format, just close the parenthesis at the end so it gives you a link like this:
Image Source

oh kool I never knew about that!!!!! :O
Thank you i will try, does that go for screenshot snippits too? or what about memes? is it not all covered by fair use? do you think I should try to get steemcleaners to remove the flags?
Thank you again for the input I appericate it! 8D

I missed this post Skeptic-I'm glad you have finally had some success. Your screenshots generally cite themselves! Meaning, we all know full well where they came from so it would be ridiculous and trivial to accuse you of plagiarism!
I'm glad that you never went to college they would have booked all the fun out of you. You've educated yourself, you keep learning and you are rough around the edges- anyone who isn't cool with that is, frankly, a bore.

xD
I actualy did go to college for a bit but it was all compuer classes and so long ago that none of it is relevant now. lol
Stupid windows 98 was actually a class. -smh-

Thanks for the comment. I try not to be boring.
8D

Honestly - so many things are grey area now with everything out on the internet.

As for the snippets it really is a matter of the content and also if that snippet link back to the source.

With everything, I would just always ask the question, who is the owner of this content? If it is clear to you who it is then better of citing it, only takes 10 seconds to do so.

That's best advice I can give as I am not an authority on the subject.

Thank you I will try my best. 8D

He didn't reference anything. he just posted screenshots of the pictures he took and his text was like "this is a bad fallacy. don't do this fallacy"

idiotic

lol someone butt hurt? xD
the proof is in the block chain.

Indeed it is "referencing" and it lies underneath my post.

you don't have any references on that post because you can't even edit it :D

idiot

yeah because you cant edit it is why. LOL
I like how you have resorted to ad hominem.

You copy-pasta'ed the images without supplying references. Stop whining like a little bitch.

Even the free poster mentions that you have to reference the author. You can use anything as long as you reference your material.

google the word "reference"

lol your funny. maybe worry about your own copy and pasting issue with your own post? you are even copying words right out of pages and erasing water marks. LMFAO!
You even copyed the wrong example to the wrong fallacy because you wernt paying attention.

i provides image credits undernath you dimwit :)

again. google the word reference before you even get to logical fallacies

oh like your hittler pict you hid in there? LOL
why you mad bro?

I assume you never went to college or never had to write a paper and make references....jesus

Thank you for the upvote. still one more post to come out in the chain of them. xD

I think you are fine.

Thank you, does it all fall under fair use? do you think steemcleaners should remove the flags? A new header will be fun but the rest is what I'm not sure about yet.
Thanks again for the input, I hope you are correct. xD

Cool, you received some whale votes on this.

HOLY SHIT!
My Brain might have just broken. :O

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60814.60
ETH 2715.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44