Unconditional Love even after serious illness (featuring @mahekg as author)

in #life8 years ago

Love is the most powerful, magical force in the universe, and there is nowhere it displays its beauty and wonder more than in the intimate relationship between two people. I cannot say how it happened but it did and I am grateful that it manifested in such a way that it left me full to the brim.

I am not ashamed to say that I am a villager. Yes, a village born girl. When I was still a teenager, I found love in the form of my cousin. I thought that this would be it. That this was the definition of love that we have always been taught. But life has its own way of teaching its lessons.

We had a beautiful marriage. A great bonding was already present between us and we understood each other’s needs and confidences. But as I said life has its own way of testing, even relationships. It so happens that after the birth of my first child I was diagnosed with MS. Multiple sclerosis (MS) is a potentially disabling disease of the brain and spinal cord (central nervous system). It causes communication problems between the brain and the rest of the body. Eventually, the disease can cause the nerves themselves to deteriorate or become permanently damaged.

I thought this was it. No one likes a baggage. My husband will surely leave me now that I have this horrifying disease. It is just a matter of time. As soon as I will lose the ability to walk independently, I will be handed a divorce letter alongside a wheelchair.

How wrong was I; I cannot imagine! I am even ashamed to a huge extent. My husband, who is a lawyer, would come every day from his busy practice and spend hours with me. Talking, boosting my confidence, encouraging me to fight and whatnot! I was surprised. I had never been introduced to this kind of love. My definitions had always ended at marriage or child birth. But this intense care was something that melted me away.

My husband did know that there's no cure for multiple sclerosis. There are only treatments that can help in speedy recovery from attacks and in modifying the course of the disease and management of the symptoms. But he still took care of me; honest to his vows. He hired a maid for me who would take care, both of me and my child. This is love. It truly is and if you have it than you are one of the luckiest beings on this planet.

I have now passed the golden years of my life. White hairs are now present on my head. But with all these changes there is one thing that hasn’t changed one bit. My husband and his love and care for me. There is no miracle greater than love. It is God's most precious gift to us and I am thankful for the husband that has been selected for me. I truly wish that he remains with me till the end of days.


@serejandmyself features new and known authors to diversify content. ALL Steem Dollars for this post go to the featured author.

Don't just follow me, follow the author as well, if you like their post - @mahekg Thank you!

Sort:  

Yes, a very beautifully endowed article about great love, thank you for sharing. Namaste :)

Namaste eric, its my pleasure you liked it.

my friend was recently diagnosed the same desease. She was desparated can't believe why this desase have chosen her???? She is young single mother with 10 years old boy of 32 realized that life is over... But she manage to understand that there are people around who supports her and ready to be next to her...She struggles now, struggles for life and future of your son! Yes, never give up and everybody should remember there are people around who loves you no matter what and ready to be next to you... Thank you for sharing this story...

Purpose of this story is to inspire the one's who are suffering from this illness and motivate them to keep going.

Good idea @serejandmyself. If you hadn't shared this, I might not have found it. Thank you for that.

Wow. @mahekg is a very blessed woman. I hope to find this level of love someday.

Thank you Geke, I hope you will find a love but i hope u wont have to go through all the illness as a lady in story

Beautiful and inspiring. Sad that most of the times we have to go through really difficult times to appreciate the ones who are with us all the time...

Yes and the once closest to us are the only once who are really with us in tough times.

God bless your marriage
^ vote

Is such love even in our ruthless world?!

Such a sweet and lovely piece. So much of what we hear and see of marriage today is a negative! God bless you and your husband.

Honor and Love. A great story. Thanks for sharing.

I am glad you liked it

Very nice to see the dedication to your loved ones. It is the most important thing in life to have someone that cares for you unconditionally!

Well said, thats why it is important to pick the right partner with whom you want to spend rest of your life

Well I have girlfriend now, don't have plans to marry yet, but I will keep this in my mind, it is really important to choose a very loyal and loving spouse.

This is why younger generation is chossing live-in relationships over marraiges, where you have a time to know each other well.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58171.46
ETH 2472.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42