Hunting for wild mushrooms (For the benefit and enjoyment)

in #mushrooms8 years ago (edited)



When I was a small kid, I’ve spent a lot of time in the country (three months a year at the least), so naturally I’m pretty much adapted now to live off the land. I always could get some food, be it a forest, a river, or even someone’s farm, while traveling in the countryside. Don’t get me wrong there was always plenty of food waiting for me at my grandparents’ home, but did it matter for an adventurous mind? In my early years I already knew how to get food, how to cook it to feed myself, and how to make a shelter for myself, if need be. So, after years spent in countryside I really know a lot about gifts of Mother Nature and how to use them.

Back than there were two things I was specially keen about–fishing and mushrooms hunting. Now, if you can go fishing almost without a mentoring or with a little knowledge about the matter, mushroom hunting requires a tuition for one extremely important reason–you can be poisoned by just too many mushrooms out there. For this reason, never believe any online mushroom hunting resources that asserts you can be a pro hunting mushrooms right after reading it. There are lots of mushroom hunting guides on the internets, but when describing hunting techniques these also should have a warning that at least 1% of all mushrooms can kill you and 20% can make you very sick.

Amanita muscaria (fly agaric or fly amanita), the most famous poisonous mushroom

No poisonous mushrooms look similar to penny bun (cep)!

I mostly live in the urban jungle now, but still love to travel through countryside. Once in while my friends (urban dwellers, who saw mushrooms mostly in the stores) join me for hunting mushrooms, which is always a great adventure for them. Needless to say, every time it’s also an event for me, because of many reasons. First, I love to spend my time with the friends, second walking in the forest is beneficial from any point of view, and it’s just always lots of fun to show your friends something new in this wonderful world.

A perfect looking penny bun (cep)

Yet another perfect penny bun!

My best advice is: if you are newbie in mushroom hunting never go hunting on your own and always have an experienced friend with you. Study how exactly edible mushrooms look like–that’s what all these online guides are pretty good at, but still not sufficient to stay safe. Pick only the mushrooms that you are 101% percent sure these are not poisonous.

These mushrooms are most delicious when small

Penny bun or cep is the best edible mushroom, don't even argue with me!

Personally when hunting for mushrooms, I’m always looking for the king of all mushrooms–the cep (penny bun, boletus edulis, porcino or porcini). I consider it the most tasty of all mushrooms and with additional tuition it’s pretty easy to recognize accurately when hunting. The pictures in this post should already give you an understanding of what mushrooms species I’m talking here, but since it has too many names over the globe, please also check with wikipedia.

Bigger shrooms may have worms, so better inspect them before cooking!

I know that's already a lot of pictures, but isn't this one is cute?


In case you are now interested in wild mushroom hunting, here are some good links for you:

5 Easy-To-Identify Edible Mushrooms For The Beginning Mushroom Hunter

Wild mushrooms: What to eat, what to avoid (Proper identification can mean the difference between life and death)

Wild Mushroom Guide



I hope you found my post entertaining and useful.
Thank you for all upvotes and comments!
Cheers and happy hunting!
@richman

Sort:  

I would poison everyone if I had to go out and pick mushrooms, so much easier and safer buying from the supermarket but not as tasty I guess

Well, frozen mushrooms from the supermarket are pretty good, actually.
But foraging wild mushrooms just needs some experience. I also heard there are lots of mycological associations and societies in many countries over the globe ;D
Thanks for your comment @karenb54!

I do prefer fresh mushrooms, find frozen ones go soggy, or maybe that's just my cooking. :)

Indeed fresh mushrooms are much better, I just haven't seen penny buns fresh in the supermarkets. Usually we also put some into the freezer to have some fancy dishes in winter.

Think they just stick to the ones people know, would like to to have a mixture, I love mushrooms but hubby hates them so got to eat them separate from the meals I cook, blooming annoying

It's the first time I've seen word "blooming" in this context )))
So, your hubby hates all and any mushrooms at all?

@karenb54 - I'm in your husband's camp. I can't stand them. But I want to like them. My husband feels cheated with my cooking since I never use them. :)

@fairytalelife wouldn't let me reply,
That's how I feel especially in Lasagna and Spaghetti Bolognese :)

It is better than swearing lol All mushrooms, he doesn't like there texture
I couldn't post below.. 6 deep

Oh, I see, then you can cook mushrooms for yourself only, and guess what? You'll get more of them! ;D

Yeah I cook them in a separate pan them add them when I have put his out. Would love to try different ones

Good luck! And bon appetit ;D

Bigger shrooms may have worms, so better inspect them before cooking!

That's some good advice @richman!

Yep, even small ones may have them.
Sometimes they put mushrooms in salted water, so all worms would come out.

I can not wait for weekend to go to the forest for a silent hunting : )

I can bet mushroom hunting goes well along with witchcrafting lol

have no doubt ;D

If I were trapped in the woods, and had to rely on my survival skills to survive, I'd be fine, and able to live moderately well, for quite awhile. My one Achilles heel, however is foraging. I never was very good at distinguishing different plants, especially mushrooms, and being able to determine which were edible, and which would throw you into a fit of convulsions. Practice, I suppose, and experience is key. Something I need to get better at.

Thank you!
Actually you don't really need to, but why not ;D

Thanks for sharing! I began to think about how much I missed searching for mushrooms! In Ukraine, my grandfather taught me the different types and we would go into the forest every morning. Now, in the U.S., when I'm hiking a trail with friends I point out the edible mushrooms;however, I tend to be met with skepticism.

Thank you for your comment!
I've been told by my friends that in Norway these mushrooms are everywhere in the forests and nobody is foraging for them. Here it's kind of National sport--when it's a season, you have to wake up at 5 am or earlier to be the first to spot the best ;D

Norway...I now I know where my next adventure will take me! :)
Back in the day, on my forest expeditions, I would come across wild black currants as well! Those were always a surprise and a treat. :)

Lovely post. Thank you for the tutorial and photographs. If one may inquire, what did you do with the mushrooms?

Thanks a lot!
The same day I had outstanding soup with mushrooms and musrooms fried with onions.
But, generally the penny bun or cep is good for anything. I just love them marinated (pickled) :D

Thank you for your reply. All sound tasty and certainly marinated would serve you long term. Cheers

Yep, pickled penny buns are so delicious:


(from the local restaurant)

Damn, this stoked up my appetite.

Well, that's the purpose of this picture ;D

Oh... And where on the planet such a beauty could be found?? И где же такое сейчас вообще водится? )))

Ukraine, and I've heard it's nothing extraordinary comparing to Norway and Sweden ;D
Украина и говорят, что это ничто по сравнению с Норвегией и Швецией )))

Согласен. Сам ещё пацаном был, когда все грибные места вокруг Винницы излазил)))

Да, было время )))

I have already visited my usual spots - but the season hasn't started here, yet.
We need some rain first, then I will blog about foraging mushrooms, too :)

I've checked if I'm following you, and I am! Looking forward to your post about shrooms ;D
Let it rain!

Make it rain :D

Great article, @richman! Doesn't qualify for the Daily Recipes, but will resteemit as it is of interest for any food lover.

Thank you very much!
If I do a mushroom soup recipe post, will it qualify for the Daily Recipes?

Beware the angel of death mushroom. It claims the lives of one to three people every year. While I've never seen one up close that I know of , I've read that it is a subtle looking fungi that has fooled even pros. There is no antidote for it; hence the name.

I have sufficient skills to chose only edible mushrooms, while my best advice not to take a mushroom, if there any doubts. There are lots of other mushrooms around, no need to risk!
Thanks for your comment )

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 59476.67
ETH 2299.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48