Many Tomorrows

in #story8 years ago

Remember when we walked along the railroad tracks? How you kept bumping against me and teasing that I had my head down and wouldn't look at you.

You wore light blue jeans and a white t-shirt and red Nikes that you said you'd never replace after winning the championship game. I had on my denim jacket. My hair was everywhere in the wind. I couldn't stop smiling.

You slipped your hand into mine and pulled me across the tracks to the empty train car. We rolled open the rusty door and sat, our legs kicking over the side.

You remember how you told me "I love you" for the first time? And I fell back on the dusty wooden slats of that smelly car and laughed until you kissed me. I kissed back.

I remember your hand on my side, the cloth feeling thin between us. How I kept smiling against your lips and you against mine until our teeth clinked and we both jumped up, running along the tracks like there was no tomorrow.

There were many tomorrows, but that day glows warm in my mind because the world was changing color and the leaves were falling and I felt for the first time like I life was full and sweet and ripe for the picking.

image via pixabay.com

Sort:  

You sure this is a fiction not your real life event? Very moving.

Upvoted and already followed before.

Definitely fiction and thank you x2!

post extraordinary, beautiful words that used congratulations thank you for sharing

Thank you so much!

I love the way you describe the story and the description of the actions, good job

@perspective.
Nice story, great words.

i follow.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60482.94
ETH 2613.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63