Beauty in decay?

in #art8 years ago (edited)

As the dark nights begin to creep in and the temperature falls, is there beauty to be found in the dying flowers of the garden?

I adore the changing colour palette of autumn, in the leaves on the trees and the petals of some flowers. The hydrangea is one of those plants that creates a beautiful spectrum of colours even in its final weeks. For today's drawing I have been out in the garden drawing white hydrangeas, I plan to bring you different colours in a range of media throughout the week.

Details


Mixed media on paper (42 x 59 cm). Media used: Inks, pastels, paint, book text, masking tape, baking parchment, chalk and charcoal.

Orange, red and pink next!

IMG_20160928_203206.jpg

Follow me @opheliafu !

Sort:  

opheliafu, thank you for sharing your beauty in decay

A pleasure. I promise I won't start looking at beauty in decaying roadkill, just plants!

Autumn is such a beautiful time of the year. Thank you for sharing!

Yes it is! Such an inspiring season.

Cool! 😊 hope you recognize my posts soon😊

Cor, you have excelled yourself with this one!

Ta very much!

@opheliafu I love hydrangeas - I have plenty of them in our front yard, they also look very pretty when all that's left is the contour or that vein like lines on the petals. When I saw your painting that's the first thing that hit my head

Well i have quite a few in that state from last year that i use for cyanotypes. Very beautiful.

Love the mix of colors..i would buy that ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59895.89
ETH 2419.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44