💧🔬 Photographs that reveal the true beauty of tears 🔬💧

in #photography8 years ago (edited)

We all need to cry sometimes, scientifically tears are divided into three different types based on their origin. Basal tears, reflex tears or emotional tears. We are all familiar with these ways of crying, but how do they look microscopically? Is there any difference? Science says that every tear has a different viscosity and composition. All tears contain a variety of biological substances including oils, antibodies and enzymes suspended in salt water. But how does this relate to the “real world”.

Because of these questions I decided to start an evening of experimenting with my close friends. I asked them to come over and pick a way they would like to cry from. The options they could voluntarily choose from where: cutting onions, eat hot peppers, look in to a fan or cry because of sadness or happiness. To see if there was a resemblance or difference in the structure of forming tears, I took images of every tear drop under the microscope.

A relatively simple and fun proces, first you capture the tear with a micropipet. After you have the tear you dispense it on too a microscopic slide by making several small (2–4 mm) drops. After this step it takes some time to crystalize and settle. After the tear drop(s) are crystallised it’s possible to take images and start comparing.

The structures seen under the microscope and in the images are largely crystallized salt, the circumstances under which the tear dries can lead to radically dissimilar shapes and formations, so two psychic tears with the exact same chemical makeup can look very different up close.

The results

So I think its safe too say that the differences in tears that are seen are not showing differences between the origins of crying, but just show a composition of the tear it self and the circumstances it crystallised in. Never the less they are beautiful to look at.

Emotional Tears:


Tear of mourning


Tear of sadness due sickness of father


Sad memory of something that happend in the past

Reflex Tears:


A tear harvested after cutting white onions, putting pepper in the eyes, snorting water and eating a red pepper


Tear of applying menthol oil close to the eye


This tear is harvested after cutting white onions

Basal Tears:


Biking into the wind


Tear of looking in to a ventilator


Tear of looking in to a ventilator

It would be great if one day I would be able too share this experience live with you during a local exposition. An exposition where you as a volunteer can donate a tear, a tear that would be added to the collection of tears that will travel the world.

Now I would very much love to get my hands on the tears of Donald Trump when he looses the elections!

Imagine how they would look!!

Sort:  

Hope to have some Steem tears some day, don't know yet in which way :O

Omg! I have to say I was buying it at the first pictures, hahaha! Great post man, and the added text was just perfect.

"I would love to get my hands on the tears of Donald Trump" ☜(˚▽˚)☞

I've heard tear sizes are proportionate to hands so you might need a better microscope for that, but then again you'll have a lot more samples!

OMG I had to laugh about your last sentence hahaha! Wel I can go up to 1500X enlargement and these are about 100X so maybe we are lucky ;)

There is no way I am going to lose this election!

Ok, ok ok, ether way then we can maybe make a deal. If you win I will get your happy tears but if you loose you have to give me your sad / angry tears! Deal?

It sure is interesting and cool but I'm not sure if it's beautiful or it creams me out! :)

Thats an interesting thing, can you describe why? Is it because of the "color scheme" or is it about the idea of tears? Or its structures or shapes ? Maybe a combination?

Sharp stuff in my eyes! Ouch! :)

Now you know why sometimes when you cry it stings a bit ;)

LOL great work and post!!! I will definately follow you!

Great work. Reminds me of the work done by Masaru Emoto, with thoughts and water crystals. With tears, you give human emotion three dimensions, frozen in time.

Don't You love his work, he is one of my great inspiration sources after I by accident found out that tears look like this under a microscope! In the future I really hope to make this a "service" where people can walk in and share there deepest secrets, emotions and capture them for life. Thinking bout the tears of mom or dad after they get a child. Or a tear of someone on its deathbed capturing his last tear for life.

Emoto seemed to work with intention... with changing the water, imbuing it with the energy that would give the crystals a different formation. Your work is more in the moment or even past emotion. More like a photograph, a picture of emotion rather, a Polaroid of one's internal life.

You just gave me insights on so many levels with your description, I had never seen or thought about it in this way. Especially your last sentences are giving me goosebumps.

Your work is more in the moment or even past emotion. More like a photograph, a picture of emotion rather, a Polaroid of one's internal life.

Thank you for this!

You're welcome! Artistry brings out the best in everyone!

I was going to say that this article is a translated repost, since I was absolutely positive that I'd read it before.

But then I looked at the username and it all made sense! Cool to have you around here, wonderful work, I'm a fan!

haha Spookypooky, are you Dutch? :) Nice to hear I had a mega spread and that ppl around the world seem to have heard about this before here.

Yup, Dutch here. I'm glad it's catching on though! Science and art are a great mix.

Thanks for looking this up! I was wondering - glad to see its legit

It was very interesting to read ! upvote

I have been researching this for many years now and have found an awful lot of info considering this matter with Russian researchers. they also have found that every person has a specific water imprint to their "persona". The differences with tears of bliss and joy compared to so-called negative emotions are quite impressive and their results on living beings, plants or animals, have monumental implications... Great work, thanks for sharing, thrive on and namaste. :)

Dear Eric, Thanks! I have indeed heard that Russian Researches have done a lot of research on the matter, unfortunately I don't speak or I cant read Russian; But I do have many articles send to me by them. Hope to uncover there secrets and visions on the matter in te future!

If you are interested, we can share findings together? I have stopped delving into it a little while ago as I mosey over to other subject matters, but this is a topic I am very interested in and passionate about. Sharing discussion on the matter is always a great pleasure for me. Namaste :)

I LOL'd so hard :p

Now I would very much love to get my hands on the tears of Donald Trump when he looses the elections!

Lets work all on it to get his tears! With the power of steem this should be a possibility!

Never really looked a a tear close up , and there beautiful to say the least, extremely beautiful!

This is beyond words incredible.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58211.91
ETH 2476.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38