The Key to the Universe: The meanings behind my fiction, JACKED metaphors explained, pt1

in #story8 years ago

If you read JACKED, this post is for you!

I have a confession to make. There is no Jack Kelly. Those of you who have not been following my scifi series "JACKED" bk 1 of The Origin Dime Chronicles, are probably scratching your heads right now, but you might want to hang around, because this is about you too.

enter image description here

If you'd rather read the story first, please do. There's a complete list of all episodes so far at the bottom of this post!

Back to what I was saying. Jack Kelly, the smart, confused, thrown in over his head hero of my book series doesn’t exist, or more correctly, I am Jack. I wrote JACKED as a metaphor for my own life. But, it’s not really about me, alone, it’s about all of us.

In the story, Jack discovers that he has these amazing abilities, one, to travel through multiple dimensions without ever leaving the comfort of his own time and space, and can return instantly, or move from there to another and another. Two, he has the ability not to foresee the future, but to invent it, right there, on the spot, and I am Jack Kelly, but I also think we all are.

Jack owns a restaurant called The Mad Cow Burger Shack and he hates the place, he wants out. Ironically it houses a very special mechanism for people who aren’t like Jack, people who don’t have the power within themselves to be transported into another world on their own. (which he doesn’t know he can do in the beginning) It’s called a transdimensional vortex and it’s sitting right underneath the restaurant the whole time, waiting for him to discover it, walk through the door and escape.

So, here is where this gets interesting. I’ve always believed that we have ultimate power over our own destinies, that we, and only we have the power to choose what happens next and how it affects us. Now, that doesn’t mean we can control anyone, but in a sense, it turns out, we do. So, here’s how this story applies to my own life.

I believe in something bigger than me, and in my youth, I was introduced to a matrix, or device, that helped me understand it, it’s called church. Now, Christians, bear with me, I’m not downplaying your beliefs, but the first step to understanding what I mean is this, the very best that any religion or belief system has to offer in the way of understanding something infinite, is a metaphor.

It’s not religion’s fault, and that metaphor is not a lie, but think about it. God is described as a Father, a King, a Warrior, a Mother Hen, A wind, a Flame, a River, Rain, a Still small voice, a Cloud, a loud voice from a burning bush, the list goes on. All metaphors.

That doesn’t mean these people did not experience the creator in these ways, it means that He shows himself like this to the finite mind for a reason, he doesn’t fit inside of there, so He (I’m using He because it’s how I grew up and how I think about my relationship to the infinite) has to plant a doorway in the mind that lets us out of it, into what He actually is.

Only a tiny corner of who God is can fit in the human mind at any time. So, we gain our understanding like grains of sand on a beach, each one unique, and if you can understand a single grain, you get the whole beach, but then you look up and you realize that you get that one grain on a certain level, but what it is part of is so much bigger…

So, in JACKED, I’m dealing with things that are too big to be examined directly. They require the distance that metaphor provides. Here’s one part:
Jack believes he is the last Aedapt (dimension jumper, shape shifter, future changer) from his dimension and that only people like him have the power to jump between dimensions without the aid of a device.

In the story, the vortex is one type of device, Jack has another device that he uses early on, called BEANS, (yes he trades the “Mad Cow” for BEANS, a Basic Extradimensional Access Network) And through the use of these devices, regular people, and even Aedapts who are not imminently skilled, can make the leap from one plain of existence to another.

Are you still with me? Nod your head, okay! SO, here’s the thing. They are props. They too are metaphors for the actual reality of the situation. In truth, anyone who can shed the trappings of the “real” universe (take the red pill NEO) can see things as they are on a deeper level.

The Matrix opened a lot of eyes, many of which immediately closed again, sadly.

In the beginning people need a pill, they need a church building, they need a guru, they need a book. But, the truth is, just like Jack, the vortex to access the deeper meaning of life exists inside our very DNA. It’s there, just because you don’t see it yet, means nothing! And we jump in and out of consciousness on this. It’s easy to get confused, when reality bumps up against truth and we confuse the two.

So, what about authoring the future? Well, you’re going to have to read my next post in order to find out what I think about that!
Meanwhile, if you haven’t read it yet, Here are all of the Episodes of JACKED, the first novella in a trilogy that explains it better, since the metaphor gets inside your head and opens a door for you to peek through, is it making sense yet?

Not sure what I'm talking about? That's okay, there's plenty of time
to read Jacked and give me your feedback. Here all 15 episodes of the
first Novella, JACKED, of The Origin Dime Chronicles

Episode one
Episode two
Episode three
Episode four
Episode five
Episode six
Episode seven
Episode eight
Episode nine
Episode ten
Episode eleven
Episode Twelve
Episode Thirteen
Episode Fourteen
Episode fifteen

enter image description here

Sort:  

I'm gonna sit down and read these today. :)

Awesome, let me know what you think. I've started on the second novella and will be adding daily, when possible.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60814.60
ETH 2715.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44