I travel the world Part 71: Museum of Santa Cruz

in #art8 years ago (edited)

My last stop in Toledo was the Museum of Santa Cruz

The museum divides its collection into three sections. Archaeology,  dedicated to Roman, Visigoth, Arabic and Mudejar cultures; Fine arts,  with a major collection of Toledo painting from the XVI-XVII Centuries,  and works of art by artists such as El Greco; and Industrial Art,  exhibiting examples of popular culture and local traditional  craftmanship (ceramics, glass, textiles, iron work, and gold and silver  work). SOURCE

I liked the mix of Archaeology, Industrial Art and Fine arts. There are several El Greco Masterpieces on display. A fantastic Museum to visit if you go to Toledo!

Industrial Art

 Fine arts

Beautiful Building

We found a restaurant nearby which offered a fantastic lunch plate for 8 Euros. It was really super tasty

Back to Madrid...

I really loved Toledo and we left after really enjoying the city. There are around 10 Museums in Toledo you could visit. This city is a cultural heaven. If you ever go to Madrid don't forget to visit Toledo!

Are you an art lover? Which century is your favorite?

I am blogging about the following topics :

Sort:  

This post has been linked to from another place on Steem.

Learn more about linkback bot v0.4. Upvote if you want the bot to continue posting linkbacks for your posts. Flag if otherwise.

Built by @ontofractal

yes. I found that madrid and toledo offer so much art. I went to all madrid museums

I would come there just for the El Greco! Must go to Tolede sometime it seems.

if you go, visit madrid prado etc and than go to toledo. you won't regret

Oh, I would never miss Prado when in Madrid. It is maybe my favourite museum of them all. Velasques first and foremost but also Tizian, Hieronimus Bosch and El Greco. Prado is a two-days museum with me admiring the brushwork of Velásquez for hours and my family fast asleep on the big square couches behind me.

But I have never been to Toledo - will do that next time I am in Spain.

You are lucky I have only been there twice... (2x2xdays :)

ah ;) yeah I lived in madrid for 6 month etc. its a nice city

I love your travel blog. I would surely stop by Toledo if i were in those parts, just to see the great El Greco ... he basically invented impressionism 250 years before impressionism :-)
One point though, i would love more specific comments to images, instead of a long row of them. Just my thoughts

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64799.61
ETH 3102.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83