I travel the world Part 38: 言の葉 (Kotonoha Tokyo)

in #food8 years ago (edited)

My favorite Restaurant in Tokyo is Kotonoha!

It is run by a friend who is not going the expensive and great path, he wants as many people as possible to enjoy his fantastic food (so affordable and awesome is the path he chose)

The restaurant has two entrances. Left side for normal guests, where you can sit at the counter or at tables in the restaurant. Right entrance goes directly to Separees section, so Celebrities, politicians etc. can have privacy from the public. (The table design is different in the Separees, so check my pictures for that)

I Travel the(1)

Kotonoha offers Lunch and Dinner

LUNCH

They have a special menu, 450g of A5 Grade Wagyu for 6.000 Yen.

I ate this a couple of times with a friend, but my friend the owner told me, that they have it as (click)bait on the Menu, no normal human would order a 450g Steak for lunch... (so they were making a huge loss every time I showed up for lunch:)

906477_10151937099648444_318776061_o

Here is the 450g Lunch menu. It is impossible to eat this alone! So we usually ordered more rice and shared it with 2-3 persons. 

1403351_10151937100103444_562035776_o

DINNER

Usually we start Dinner with some entrees and drinks.

Japanese Mushrooms with scallops 

1460238_10151940904148444_1768633490_n

Some delicious starters 

1462883_10151940903948444_2017845797_n

A5 Grade Wagyu (2500Yen to 2800Yen)

Sirloin and Fillet Steak (This steak melts in your mouth. The flavor is so incredible, I have converted vegetarians into Meateaters. If they are in Japan, they eat meat...)
1466234_10151941030068444_888751830_n

Champion Wagyu Filetsteak

This is a Super-Wagyu Steak. I rate it even higher than Kobe Beef (which is way over-rated) 

Usually only the emperor or other super rich individuals could ever get their hand on this Wagyu. It is so rare, that even the chef of this restaurant was only able to source it a couple of times in his life.  

This did set us back 8000 Yen per 100g, but it was worth every penny (we only paid the wholesale price, normally that 100g would go for 25.000Yen (250$)

(As you can see, the table is different, this picture was taken on a different day in one of the Separees, when my friend called me to come to the restaurant as he was able to source this super rare Wagyu)
336310_10151572328093444_504705846_o

Scallop

Super tasty and delicious 

547806_10151940904068444_1113651333_n

Uni-Don (Sea-Urchin Ball with Sushi Rice)

This is Uni from Oma, the diver who get the Sea-Urchin out of the sea, labels the glas with his signature. Of course this is Japan, the Sea-Urchin is super fresh, as it is delivered within hours to the restaurant. 

This Don is not offered on the menu, it's hidden secret dish. It was only 2000 Yen, which is incredible given the price of Oma Uni.


857947_10151943356748444_1770084749_o

Our last plate of Sirloin Steak... to finish the evening ;)


902859_10151943350748444_2135917208_o

RESTAURANT DETAILS:

言の葉 Kotonoha 

QUAL Ebisu 2F, 1-16-31, Ebisu, Shibuya-ku, Tokyo, 150-0013


Please leave a comment if you like this post and if you ever tried Japanese wagyu in Japan!

If you like my Post, please follow me! 

I am blogging about the following topics :

  • I travel the world (Travel and Restaurant Blog)
  • Exposed (Uncovering Stories you need to know)
  • Lifehacks (How to save money, Introduction of cool products) 
  • SPOTTED (Limited Edition Food and Drinks)
  • Steemperlen (German Version)
  • SQUEEZE (Interview Series) 
  • COOKED (4 Episodes Cooking Series)
Sort:  

It is impossible to eat this alone!

! Challenge Accepted !

OK! I will buy you one if we meet up in japan one day !
haha!

of course you could eat it, but the meat has so much fat, that you will throw up after eating the whole thing.

i always clear the fat off the meat or I cook it enough that it melts :)

I missed Japan. Been there 2 times so far.
I should visit soon when my account gets fat as that stake!

dude. haha, you are missing the point here ;) the japanese meat is full of fat, and the steak is so perfect. you have to enjoy it medium and the fat makes the steak taste so good. ;) it is different than the american steaks etc. where you try to get a non-fatty steak..

so yes the fat melts, but if you eat more than 200g you will feel the fat... so i recommend max of 250g wagyu.. more is just waste of money ;)

I would still go there hungry and try to battle that thing over a 2 hour meal and maybe tons of sake. :D

yeah ! I will buy you that steak, but let's share it, and than we can enjoy some more fish and sushi and scallops and and and and and....

I love Asian cuisine!
Thank you for the delicious post @knozaki2015 :)

this is in for the kill. if you ever go to japan, go to this restaurant.. it will only cost you 40% of the over-rated kobe beef restaurants in ginza, but it will deliver an incredible foodies expierience

Japanese food are awesome :)

this steak is really over the top. incredible taste and it just melts in your mouth...

I know exactly where this is because I use to work close to there in Ebisu. But when I get a craving for wagyu, I'll typically just buy it at places like Hanamasa that have good prices inside Tokyo proper (insdie the Yamanote line).

Kobe beef is not the top in Japan - it's Matsusaka which is near Nagoya. I've never been but a buddy of mine that owns a bunch of apartments said there is one restaurant where they have the cows listed where the meat came from with pictures and names. They are prized and honored, but it comes with a big price tag to eat there.

yes thats why I said kobe is totally overrated. everybody foreigner loves kobe but I agree matsusaka gyu is great too. (I have some home made food too, I will post it for you ;) where we just bought matsusaska gyu and made shabushabu etc...

if you are still in tokyo, try it out once ;) it's not expensive.

Yeah... I live in the city. My son has his birthday this week and has already asked to have a bbq yakiniku party so I have plans to get some wagyu. We'll probably do shabushabu in the colder months when it's kind of fun to sit around with the family a cold day with the boiling pot in the center of the table.

i will post the ultimative bbq place soon than ;)
a formual one racer took me there. it's a very cheap and not so clean place but awesome ;)

Great post. Looks delicious!

Thanks. I saw a review of that place a few years ago. Some day I want to go.

Wagyu is nice. Yesterday I roasted some Aussie prime rib at home.

I've been living in Kamakura for over 15 years now. :)

oh ! I love kamakura. my friend a famous japanese pianist lived in kamakura.

My mouth waters when looking at the picture. I love Japanese food!

I think you are not alone. I would estimate that at least 1 Billion people love Japanese food ;)

I'm so jealous. I've been longing to go to Japan and try the amazing food. I am definitely trying this restaurant when I go there.

;) yes please do . It is very nice

Hi, I have been enjoying to see the photos!! It seems you have been everywhere and enjoying 'food'! I miss Japanese food a lot, thought. Do you live in Japan and go to trip everywhere? That seems fun!!
今は、ナッシュビル(TN)、に住んでいます。早くに replyしようと思っていたのだけれど。ここに、今どこに住んでいるか書くのためらわれたので遅くなりました。

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60309.00
ETH 2342.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55