I travel the world Part 25: CAFÉ VIENA (feat. THE worlds best sandwich NY TIMES)

in #food8 years ago (edited)

Today I showed you how to make a panini, but the best sandwich I ever ate in my life will be featured in this trip report!

Follow me to some of my favorite spots in Barcelona!

I Travel the(13)

A very nice Restaurant in Barcelona is La Fonda

The first time I went there was 2008 and I always go there while visiting Barcelona.

The restaurant does not accept reservations, so you have to go there 1 hour prior to opening if you want to get a table (coming too late will result in not getting a table that night, at 19:30 already 20-30 standing in line there)


Le Méridien Barcelona(3)
Everything is good here, my favorites are:

Canelons diespinacs        5,50
Pimiento piquillo Esca    5,30
Sopa peix                           4,02
Arros negre                       6,20
Gall al forn                        7,95
Crema catalana                 2,95

La Fonda
Carrer dels Escudellers, 10
08000 Barcelona

TEL 93-301-75-15
OPEN  MO-SUN (13.00-15.30/  20.30-23.30)
http://www.lafonda-restaurant.com/


HOTEL

I recommend the Le Meridien Hotel in terms of location and price. Got a nice suite for 129 Euro last time. 

Le Méridien Barcelona(1)

The worlds best Sandwich

The sandwich at Cafe Viena (the flauta  d’ibéric d.o. jabugo 7$) is so good, even the New York times claimed its the best sandwich in the world, and i have to agree.

Here is a quote from MARK BITTMANs New York Times article

So that’s the sandwich, wrapped in waxy paper and thrust at you with no  ceremony, though I assure you that it’s something Ferran Adrià or Joël  Robuchon would be proud to serve. There’s not much of the ham because  it’s so expensive, but also because it’s so strongly flavored. It drapes  over the bottom layer, its fat stark white, the lean deep, deep pink,  just about purple. It is salty, of course, but also rich, sweet, even  floral; there are subtleties that make you pause.  But this gets a  little technical; let’s just say it’s the best sandwich I’ve ever had. 

Le Méridien Barcelona(4)


So whats to good about this sandwich? 

Firstly they use a bread unlike anything I have ever eaten anywhere else in the world. The bread is super crispy and they use a tasty olive oil . If that is not enough, they use the most expensive and best jamón ibérico you can buy (100$ a pound!!).

Everybody knows jamón ibérico but that special one from the town of Jabugo  is the KOBE BEEF of jamón ibérico.

So you have a world class bread, world class jamón ibérico + superb olive oil. The result is WORLD CLASS!

Once I made a stopover in Barcelona to buy 20 of these and took them to my friends birthday party in Paris, everybody freaked out. The bread was still crispy after 4 hours...

CAFÉ VIENA
Rambles, 115. Barcelona

OPEN 365 days of the year
From 8.00 am to 11.30 pm
Fridays and Saturdays, until 12.30 am

The first posting a picture holding the sandwich (with a Steemit Logo) will receive 20 SBD !!!


 ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------  

If you like my Post, please follow me! 

I am blogging about the following topics :

  • I travel the world (Travel and Restaurant Blog)
  • Exposed (Uncovering Stories you need to know)
  • Lifehacks (How to save money, Introduction of cool products) 
  • SPOTTED (Limited Edition Food and Drinks)
  • Hidden Gems (German Version)
  • SQUEEZE (Interview Series) 
  • COOKED (4 Episodes Cooking Series)
Sort:  
Loading...

Looks and sounds amazing, fab pictures. I could do with a holiday, enjoyed the read :)

Yes barcelona is not far. and if you are in europe, its so ccheap to go there!

I would like to retire somewhere like that, Might be worth checking out

yes, if you are european. you can just move there!

We have just left the EU so think this will be pretty hard for me

amazing trip. looking forward to having a great trip like that

yeah. barcelona is great. cheap and you get really great food there

Just a great post! Now I'm hungry and that creme brulee looking thing will be in my mind all day. Lol

Очень аппетитно выглядит! Thank @knozaki2015 !:))

I love Jamón Ibérico from Jabugo

Haha ! yeah. its the best ham.

have fun ur travelling @knozaki2015

hey tito ! thank you. I didn't go there this year, but i try to go to barcelona every year ;)

Go to Malaga next Knozaki!!

yes thats on my list i have been there as a kid

@knozaki2015

I am truly envious of your lifestyle. Always fun to watch you through your travels. Keep it up.

hey man. well its all about travel for me ;) i love it

Sieht lecker aus, mann mann ich vermisse Barcelona. Ich war vor zwei Jahren in Sitges. Haben dann nen Tagesausflug nach Barca gemacht... sehr nice da. Die Tappas... miam miam!

jep. barcelona ist ultimativ! sehr lecker da

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58171.46
ETH 2472.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42