[Free] Manta - Flexible invoicing desktop app with beautiful & customizable templates

in #utopian-io6 years ago (edited)

The project is freely available on GitHub here: https://github.com/hql287/Manta

Template 1

Template 2

Form

The main reason I decided to build this is because I need a simple tool to create good looking invoices, estimates, and receipts but couldn't find one that suits my needs. I don't do invoicing for a living but I do need it occasionally so an ideal invoicing app just needs to be good at one thing and one thing only, which is making invoices. I really don't need a full-fledged bookkeeping or accounting software.

I believe there are many people such as freelance designers, developers, photographers or writers... also have such need. However, most (if not all) products I found have these these problems:

Complexity

Most invoicing products nowadays is web-based, which means you’ll need to maintain a new account (possible a monthly fee, too) just to create an invoice.
Sure, there some open-source products that can be self-hosted, but that will introduce a new layer of complexity to your workflow. Who will setup the product? Who will maintain the server? Who will cover the cost? ...

You will always need internet connection to be able to create your invoices. It can be slow sometimes.

Privacy

When you use a web service, most of the time, you’re giving away your data whether you want it or not. Financial data is sensitive and I believe that no one should know about your data except yourself.

Goals
With that in mind, I know that Manta would need to satisfy these criteria:

  • 🚀 Fast!!!
  • 👍 Friendly UI & UX
  • 🎉 Has nice looking templates
  • 🔒 Does not touch user’s data
  • 💰 Free! :)

Main Features

  • 📢Support multiple languages.
  • 🎚 Flexible form with lots of custom fields.
  • 🏗 Drag & drop for reordering items. This makes editing easier.
  • 📐 Use SVGs for logo for better printing.
  • 🎨 Custom designed & highly customizable templates.
  • 🏷 Custom statuses for invoices.
  • 📊 Export PDF for print or email.
  • 🔒Complete Privacy. You financial data stays where it belongs.
  • 💯 Totally Free.

Technology Stack

Roadmap

I don't have a concrete roadmap for Manta yet. However, the project is still under active development on GitHub so all bug reports, feature requests, ideas and suggestions are welcome!

How to contribute?
I've written a detailed guide on how to contribute to Manta. Feel free to take a look



Posted on Utopian.io - Rewarding Open Source Contributors

Sort:  

Hey! I happen to know your story and I'm really happy to see that you've chosen to come to utopian with an already existing, developed project! I'm hoping you're here to stay. If you need anything, feel free to contact me on Discord!

Hey Victor,

Thanks for the kind word. I'm very glad to know that! :)

I'm very new to Utopian as I kinda discovered it by accident. Still trying to wrap my head around how this platform work. Do you mind if I ask you a few questions on Discord?

Thanks!

Not at all, just message me whenever you need something. I'll try to reply whenever possible!

Welcome to Utopian.io. Thank you for the contribution. It has been approved.

As this is your first contribution I would request you to read Utopian Rules, because we expect list of commits worked on for the particular contributions. Lets say for this contribution you have worked on 10 commits, so do enter teh range of commits you worked on which helps us to evaluate the work.

You can contact us on Discord.
[utopian-moderator]

Hi codingdefined, thanks for stopping by.

This project has over 600 commits at the moment and according to this contributors graph, I've made about 400 commits.

Hey @hql287 I am @utopian-io. I have just upvoted you!

Achievements

  • You have less than 500 followers. Just gave you a gift to help you succeed!
  • This is your first accepted contribution here in Utopian. Welcome!

Community-Driven Witness!

I am the first and only Steem Community-Driven Witness. Participate on Discord. Lets GROW TOGETHER!

mooncryption-utopian-witness-gif

Up-vote this comment to grow my power and help Open Source contributions like this one. Want to chat? Join me on Discord https://discord.gg/Pc8HG9x

Congratulations @hql287! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made your First Vote
You made your First Comment
Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Congratulations @hql287! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Are you a DrugWars early adopter? Benvenuto in famiglia!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Congratulations @hql287! You received a personal award!

Happy Steem Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Downvote challenge - Add up to 3 funny badges to your board
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65702.61
ETH 3485.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51