The Dark Side of the Blockchain - Chapter Four - Bob

in #sciencefiction8 years ago (edited)

Link to Chapter One


As John tried to convince me that the stolen mod was a morphine patch,

the ear piece made a clicking sound and I heard the voice say “Get to the tower now!” I immediately bolted down the street and as I entered the tower an unknown doorman whispered “Room 317.” I gave the doorman a nod and quickly walked toward the stairs, because I had to cut the cable to the elevator about a month ago, after someone got clever and attempted to use it as an escape route.

As I ran up the stairs trying to ignore all the typical tower depravity, I heard a man shouting “Electric Pizzas!” and I wondered if this was some code that I had forgotten, so I became even more worried by what I might find in room 317.


Outside the apartment

I asked for the silver and John starred at me while saying “four bags!” like an asshole. I gave a Loki knock to inform the agents that I was not alone and I heard someone run past the door to hide. Tony Boom Boom swung the door open in a panic and said “Get in here! Are you watching this shit?”

“What” I asked and Tony pointed to a back room while distracting John with a recap of what was happening on the News. “Let me talk to you in the back,” I said to Tony and a bodyguard got up from the couch and followed us into a back room.


I was greeted by a short old man with wild silver hair

that abruptly asked “Bob, how would you like to retire tomorrow?” “That sounds… good,” I nervously replied. With an air of authority he said “Well today's your lucky day, I'm Tobias and… Have you been watching the news?” Then it hit me, this crazy old man was one of the original seven coders that started the Loki Order and I was in awe to be in his presence.

Tobias grabbed me by my arms as if he was about to shake me and sternly repeated “Have you been watching the news?” I immediately blurted out “No, I've been living in the sewer.” Tobias quickly pulled his hands away to wipe them off on his pants in disgust and explained “About an hour ago a moderator named Tom learned the truth and is now being hunted. He's headed for 11th and Satoshi Blvd. where we have...”


“Boss it's time,”

the bodyguard interrupted. Tobias quickly grabbed his SCM off the desk, put it to his mouth and said “Get your disrupters ready! On the count of three, One… Two… Three!” After causing one of the largest disruptions in history Tobias turned to me and said “The system will be down for the next three hours, so go meet Tom the mod at 11th and Satoshi Blvd. and get him to a safe house. Wait three hours and then contact us, there are four safe houses near Satoshi.”

Tobias handed me an untraceable SCM with a map of the locations on the display. “What about John?” I asked. Tobias paused for a moment and said “The boys here, will take care of him for you.” In that moment I finally felt a great relief, but I couldn't resist tormenting John one last time, so I said to Tony “Tell him that I sold him out for a bag of dope by letting you know about his morphine patch.”


I laughed for a second,

but as Tony walked out I realized that John was actually about to die and even though I hated him, I felt a great sadness. For a second I thought maybe I should save him, but then I remembered that over the years John had unknowingly met almost every Loki Agent posing as dealers or a recycler within the city.

This idiot probably had enough information to bring down the entire Loki Order, so I turned toward Tobias and said “Make sure John's ashes end up in the same location as his family.” As I rushed out John was panicking and Tony had a gun pointed at John's head.


I sadly waived goodbye to John for the last time and left.

As I ran into the stairwell I heard a muffled bang that felt like a punch to the gut and I knew that Shock'n Johnny was gone. “Shake it off, just shake it off” I told myself as I ran for as long as I could. I had made it all the way to 9th and Satoshi Blvd. before I ran into three mods talking outside their cars while blocking the intersection.

I casually walked up to the one on the right that was busy telling an interesting story about a pair of boobs and I asked “Can I have some food?” The mods began laughing at the audacity of some vagrant that would walk right up to them and ask for food. “Nope, but you will be plant food tomorrow,” the mod replied while laughing.


I pulled my trusty blade

from my pocket and quickly stabbed the mod in throat. A torrent of blood shot out of his neck, so I turned his body to shield me and blind the other mods with the spraying blood. As I grabbed the dieing mods machine gun, I heard him ask “What's happening?” I then rushed us both forward and shoved his lifeless body into his buddies and lit them up in a hail of bullets. Once they were down I took all the ammo that I could find and ran toward 11th and Satoshi Blvd. to meet Tom.



Follow me for more Tales from The Dark Side of the Blockchain


Links


Introduction
The Death of a Salesman
The Death of a Hitchhiker – Series

Sort:  

Not sure what I just read but it was dope.

Thank You
Did you read Chapter One, two and three?

I didnt but ill go back and read them :)

I am just glad you liked it even though you read it out of order.

As they say, the plot thickens.

Like a rich gravy with more lumps than most desire.

Also couldn't help noticing the payout. You hit it outta the park :D This was the second part that I was waiting for, for real real. Not for play play. I can't wait to see what happens when he finds Tom and whether Bob actually lives.

Thank you
I can't believe the payout
Especially since they might not have read chapters 1, 2 and 3 lol
I can't wait to see your reaction with the next few chapters :)

Shit, there's going to be more than a few?! Don't I feel like a kid who just heard his mom got him what he wanted for Christmas.

The next chapter might be coal

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.14
JST 0.028
BTC 59305.10
ETH 2602.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44