Photogenic Adventures - Episode 3 (Shots from my Home)

in #photography8 years ago (edited)

Howdy Steemit Friends!

'GiftedGaia' (aka: Jason) from 'Steemit Talk Podcast' here to converse about some of the cool people/places/things I've seen with my camera! Prepare yourselves for...

Photogenic Adventures - Episode 3 (Shots from my Home)

This Episode is gonna be a little different friends. Whereas the past 2 'Photogenic Adventure' posts have consisted of offsite experiences - THIS grouping will be content solely generated at my home base, an apartment complex in Springfield Missouri. I plan on including both ground & aerial shots in this collection - ranging from a drainage area behind the property to shots from my balcony.

I suppose I should start this blog post with sharing a very simple truth with all of you.. and that truth is that "I REALLY love watching clouds, sunsets, & sky." In this model: You can find me content in just staring out the window for hours on end via any random day. I can say with confidence that if you enjoy watching clouds, sunsets, and beautiful skies - then this post is just for you!

Adding a camera into the mix & I've gained all sorts of enthusiasm for the (somewhat instinctual) notion that I NEED to capture the experience as best that I can. I can't really explain it - though I've noticed that if I miss a stunning sunset or cloud day, I feel like I let myself down & that those images 'got away'.

There is something about looking up that makes me feel very humble & small - and I feel that most people should do so more often to either find centering or to be reminded to not take things in their lives so seriously. Attached are some of my favorite examples of these pursuits - the ones that didn't 'get away'.

--Behind the Complex--

Imagine my gushing Joy the day I discovered a very well maintained drainage area right behind the complex. This spot has several trees planted and is a large area that allows me to fly my Quadcopter (Blade Chroma w/ CGO2+ camera) safely mere feet from my front door.

My posing for the camera w/ a Bird in the shot

Night shot from above - Springfield Missouri (looking NW)

I have many videos on my youtube page taken at this area - here is one of myself and a friend flying Quadcopters there.

Here is a video of myself flying maneuverability runs solo

This is a video shot the day I purchased a new Venom battery & wanted to show it off to a friend

I've also taken MANY stunning Sunset shots at that location. Since the spot is so close to home I can time Sunset shots easily instead of having to travel then wait for that golden window. I've ran down there many times unprompted after simply looking out the window and realizing how great the clouds are that evening.

Beautiful Sunset views facing West

395' directly above the area - Sunset shot facing West

Stunning Springfield Sunset Show

Beautiful Missouri Sunset (this video posted on Steemit before)

--Inside looking Outside--

Aside from stepping outside - sometimes I'm able to catch some pics/vids from my balcony. I've experienced several days where the clouds outside looked to be calling me - and I've setup a camera to document the dance. Below are some examples of those experiences that I'm happy to share.

Balcony Sunset shot from downstairs (old apartment)

Balcony Clouds shot from upstairs (new apartment)

Blue Sky Clouds shot from upstairs (new apartment)

Storms rolling in - Shot inside/outside (new apartment)

And that my Friends is the summation of this "Photogenic Adventures - Episode 3". I hope you enjoyed the sights & story .. and you can catch me every week on the 'Steemit Talk Podcast' as well as the newly launched 'STP Postcast'. (linked below)

Please Upvote & Follow so you can catch future "Photogenic Adventures" postings - as I have another few already planned & ready to share soon - so stay tuned!

I'll leave you all with this video of myself flying at home with AMAZING clouds dancing behind me (shot w/ my cell phone)

Sort:  

Nice this is awesome, I can tell you put a lot of time in this the picture are great! Keep up the work I gave yo a big up-vote;)

great congratulations

@giftedgaia I really enjoyed this post and seeing these neat perspectives of Springfield. It's so easy for a person to take for granted the beauty of one's home. Loved this. I'm new to Steemit. @quantumanomaly finally pulled me over, and I'm very excited to be here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 58051.31
ETH 3136.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44