I am Troi Bryan @freedomengineer... and I am here to #buildfreedom!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #introducemyself8 years ago (edited)

Hi, my name is Troi Bryan

My primary steemit handle is @freedomengineer

I have been an anarcho-capitalist and an extropian for over 25 years.

This is my introduction post on Steemit.com!

My path to Anarchism was first through Ayn Rand, then through Doug Casey.

I make my living through farming wheat, canola, and lentils in Saskatchewan.

Here is a canola field in flower... (and me)

canola_flowers0fcc3.md.jpg

Here is a swathed canola field, ready to harvest.

canola_swathfd2f9.md.jpg

For fun I like to travel with my family, watch my daughter dance, downhill ski with my son, coach hockey, and write speculative fiction. (I will post my fiction on steemit under a pseudonym.)

Outside of farming and my family, I have many other interests, but they can all be categorized into two groups.

  1. is life-extension technologies
  2. is expanding human liberty through freedom engineering technologies

I grew up in a small rural town, and not only was I the only one there who thought like me, I was quite possibly the only one in my whole province who thought like me.

When the Internet started opening up around 1993, I remember thinking, even before I had access to it... that this "Information Super Highway" this thing called "Cyberspace" was going enable people like me to find each other!

I assumed that once all of us nyms named "John Galt" did find each other, we would efficiently construct the kind of free civilization on earth that was proper for rational humans to live in.

As soon as I got online I started publishing manifestos about freedom.

Some of the first people I met were two anarcho-capitalists my own age; Jeremy and Per. Those were exciting days.

Unfortunately, the deep state is still in control of things.

I pay my taxes (grudgingly) in exchange to be allowed to continue farming... and pay more taxes?!?!

We as 'libertarians' and Voluntaryists (the trendy word for an-cap) have done a piss poor job of transforming the world.

There have been many attempts, (remember Laissez Faire City??) but thus far, all have failed.

Running a libertarian project is a lot like herding cats.

There are a surprising amount of loafers and whiners who use the label 'libertarian'. That's a problem.

And don't even get me started about the collectivists who use the label 'transhumanist'.

I guess using labels in not that helpful. It is better to speak in concepts...

I believe that all interactions between humans should be volitional. <- period.

Enter Steem.

I didn't invest in Steem because I thought that 2 billion people would join Steemit and that the market cap of Steem would consume the Facebook and Twitter bubbles and that I would make 10 million dollars simply by holding Steem Power.

I joined Steemit because I hoped that 10,000 of the vital few people would also join.

I am a firm believer in the 80/20 principle.

I think that a small percentage of humanity are responsible for it's progress.

I am not holding myself up in this class. I admit that I am an average person, with average inteligence and abilities.

But, I am just smart enough to observe the universal unbalances; including those in human ingenuity and integrity.

If Steemit continues to attract the right kind of people; such as Roger Ver for instance...

... then we can build a free civilization on this blockchain.

Steemit is not a social network to me, steemit is a culture.

I think (and hope) that we are building a culture here.

A culture of freedom.

Thanks for reading.

In November I will be launching 'Steem Sharks' which will be a pitch and startup show for anarcho-capitalists. It just might be awesome. follow @steemsharks

Sort:  

Not all transhumanists are collectivists! :)

If that were a T-Shirt I would laugh, involuntarily. ;)

Hey, @freedomengineer,

Great to meet you. I like your handle.

Unfortunately, the deep state is still in control of things.

Ever consider doing something else for a living? It's possible to have greater success if you aren't quite as large and tied to the land as you seem to be... ;)

Not that it's easy, nor "safe," but it may be worth trying.

I'm (gradually) telling my story of becoming a Christian anarchist agorist entrepreneur and I hope you'll follow me. I've been moving in this direction for almost as long as you, and also used to think I was "one of a kind." Thank God for the internet! ;)

Hello Troi @freedomengineer, welcome to the community. Great farm.

Glad to see another Doug Casey fan! His videos have definitely influenced me.

I see that you are going to Zimbabwe... that is awesome!

Hooray for another LFC flashback! Beta-testing that stuff was my first venture into all this...and I strongly suspect that the people involved in setting up the DMT are behind BTC.

Steem Sharks sounds like a lot of fun btw - following!

I also suspected Bitcoin could have had it's origins there. I just googled Orlin Grabbe and see that he died in 2008. Now that's depressing. :(

Yeah, about that. 6 months after he 'died', which there was very little information on that I could find, Satoshi published the whitepaper. Hmm...

Howdy Troi.
Already a follower, but it's good to get the intro. :)

Please engineer me some more freedom.

@anotherjoe i will try. maybe freedom will just spring from the steem blockchain.

Welcome To Steemit
Cool Blog!
Steem on!
:))

Welcome to steem culture! :)

Cheers and welcome! I found your verification post on your Twitter stream: https://twitter.com/troibryan/status/785547018605211648

I've followed you and just upvoted and resteemed this intro piece... Looking forward to reading more of your writing! Here's my intro post from a few months ago: http://st33m.it/randyintro ... Cheers!

troibryan Troi Bryan tweeted @ 10 Oct 2016 - 18:26 UTC

my introduction post on steemit.

steemit.com/introducemysel… / https://t.co/mKFt6bk9Qw

Disclaimer: I am just a bot trying to be helpful.

good to meet you @randyclemens I see that we are both farmers. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60805.28
ETH 2912.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59