VERBAL TAG (An Original Poem)

in #story8 years ago (edited)

I stumbled upon a fellow
as he struggled with his bag,
he seemed an easy target
for a game of verbal tag

He was ordinary, plain,
I knew I wouldn’t be in danger
as I calmly walked up to him and asked,
“Allow me to paint you a picture, stranger?”

“But you have no paint,” he said,
“Please, don’t be absurd!”
“Excuse me my dear fellow,
I paint in ordinary words.”

He replied, “Sir, you have no brushes,
not a canvas here to find.”
“My pen’s the only brush I need,
the canvas is your mind.”

The man, looking a bit perplexed,
reached up to scratch his head
and took me by surprise
with these fourteen words he said,

“Allow me to scribe a poem for you
of crashing waves and soaring birds.”
“Sir, but where is this pen you’ll use
to scribe your page of words?”

A brush came from his pocket,
a canvas from his bag
it seemed an artist beat me
in this round of verbal tag

Feeling squarely beaten
it seemed to me absurd
that an artist out-foxed a poet
at his game of wit and words.

(gifs sourced from Giphy.com)


A little about this poem - Verbal Tag is one of my earliest poems and appeared in my first published collection of poetry entitled, “Continuum” (now out of print.)

Did you miss the last episode of my novel, Alarm Clock Dawn? If so click here to read it. New episodes will be posted every Monday, Wednesday, and Friday morning at 11AM CST!

To follow my unfolding story please visit my website here to sign up for my author newsletter.

Sort:  

hi, you have interesting thoughts

come to me)

just... beautiful!

Oh the cunningness of the creative mind. We race one another crafting line for line. Whether lines of words or colored lines of brush. A single line of lyrics, or bodies lined to touch. We dance this life in artistic form. Always just outside the mundane of norm. We, who are creative, do enjoy a challenge. Multitalented we are, yet focus one skill as we balance.
Nice poem :)
Upvoted

Thank you for your poetic response, @verbal-d!

Thank you for the wonderful poem and inspiration once again. Let the continuum run full circle. :)

the beginning is a poem, drawing
a line between heaven and earth

I liked very much the poem and the gifs too! Thanks @ericvancewalton !

“My pen’s the only brush I need,
the canvas is your mind.”
I love that part!!!! Seeing the mind as a canvas semms pretty limitless!

Thanks, I'm glad you enjoyed it! Our minds truly are canvasses with an infinite amount of blank space to fill up.

There's always someone out there, with a different angle. Someone that knows, just as much, as you... Thanks @ericvancewalton!

You're welcome! So true, @macksby. Thanks for your support!

very good poem congratulations, thanks for sharing

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57899.47
ETH 3134.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39