UNBROKEN (An Original Poem)

in #story8 years ago (edited)

The world has grown up around us
leaving us with our memories
and the beauty of broken things,
dusty relics of the time we knew

even the sky is different now
but yet we cast the same shadows
and these shadows still stretch
as we walk away from the sun

the crowd grows younger each year
but I feel a warmth that only wisdom brings,
to have weathered all the winds life have blown
and still be able to smile...to find joy
means, today, I've won. I am not broken

these years have taught me
to feast on the marrow of life
to wring out the glistening drops of happiness,
and not trouble myself with the trivial

the day's events slither,
they are shallow and fickle
sometimes difficult to grasp
they do not even know themselves

in the end all that matters
is the sum of the words written
on the pages of our book of life
and their unique and personal truths.


I hope you're enjoying the poetry! If so, the best compliment you can give is to share my work with others, either face-to-face or online. I appreciate your continued support!

I produce limited edition, handmade poetry chapbooks twice per year. Please visit my website to sign up for my author newsletter and receive updates on when the next poetry chapbook is available!

Did you miss today's episode of Alarm Clock Dawn? If so click here to read it!

Sort:  

Great ending!

in the end all that matters
is the sum of the words written
on the pages of our book of life
and their unique and personal truths

Thank you, @greatdabu!! I'm glad you enjoyed it!

@ericvancewalton thanks for inspiring me
here's my first try at poetry with help of a friend would be glad if u had a look
https://steemit.com/poetry/@alwayzgame/two-cities-one-silenced-love-original-poem

Interesting poem, and I can relate to it. thank you

Greetings Eric
Following. Website bookmarked! Fellow poet here. What inspires you? I find myself also inspired by the little things, such as a shadow. Clever play @ericvanwalton XOXOX check me out @robyneggs (if you treasure tragedy and imagery in the moment)!

Thanks! I'm inspired by synchronistic events in everyday life usually. I get a lot of ideas when I'm walking our beagle actually. Thanks for your link!

Always doin cool stuff bro!

I think we're on opposite ends of the poetry spectrum haha , but I love it just the same! Very well written!

Wow! What a great poem. It so meaningful for every person who is reading this. So true and everybody can relate it. Good job.

Very much appreciated!

Like it.

Very Nice!

cooooooooool !!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61228.86
ETH 2663.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54