STILL I SHUDDER (An Original Poem)

in #story8 years ago (edited)

The last of summer lingers
but soon it will
brush its lips
across our foreheads
with one last warm breeze,
a sort of goodnight kiss,
with a promise to return

the short march to
winter solitude and
I haven’t yet come to terms,
still I shudder at the thought

I take our beagle to the woods
to savor the last bits of you
drink in the mottled green and
bathe in the Earth’s sweet perfume

today we’ll collect memories,
soon these will be all we have
and the dreams we harbor
will sustain us in our hope
of yet another spring.

(gif sourced from Giphy.com)


Did you miss the last episode of Alarm Clock Dawn? If so click here to read it. Episode 40 will be posted tomorrow morning at 11AM CST!

To follow my unfolding story please visit my website here to sign up for my author newsletter.

Sort:  

Awesome Work
@ericvancewalton
Steem On!

The changing of seasons is certainly worth such a beautiful poem. I hope you are going to put out a book of your poetry @ericvancewalton if you haven't already!

Thanks, @mackby! The first book I ever published, Continuum, was poetry but it's out of print now. I partner with a local Twin Cities author (@kristicasey) to make handmade chapbooks a couple times a year. You can click here and scroll down to "Poetry Chapbook Series" to read more about them and see pictures. We usually just do a print run of about 100 of each.

Very cool @ericvancewalton... I will be sure to check it out!

The most beautiful poem i have read ever here, thank you for this post @ericvanwalton.....you bless us all with your words. ; - )

Wow, that's high praise @gomeravibz! I'm glad you connected with this one and I appreciate your support! Thank you.

Why thanks for that. I do try to say what i feel here and this poem of yours truly touched me. Actually I sent it to a lady friend of mine as I feel it fits perfectly my feelings for her right now. I thank you too !! Steem On Eric !!

Awesome stuff man.

Great Read.
Love your poems.

Lovely poem and beautiful imagery of fall!

I appreciate your kind words, @travelista!

this one line- I haven’t yet come to terms, for me is the heart of the poem. It is like the narrator is looking for understanding, perhaps grieving.

You're correct, @beginningtoend. This feeling of grieving for the easy-living of Summer before it's fully gone was the main thing on my mind when I wrote it.

This post has been linked to from another place on Steem.

Learn more about linkback bot v0.4. Upvote if you want the bot to continue posting linkbacks for your posts. Flag if otherwise.

Built by @ontofractal

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60915.02
ETH 2636.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64