FUGITIVE (An Original Poem)

in #story8 years ago

Shiftless moods breed certain fools
who lose their way when darkness falls
wandering souls who’ve lost their way
and fall from grace when duty calls

away they run to foreign lands
that call them so invitingly
to begin the cycle once again
until a problem arises, then they’ll flee

until their woes weigh them down
and begin to slow their tired feet
their heads are buried in their hands,
their tired eyes filled with deceit

for all their lives they’ve been a fugitive
running from an awful ghost
this apparition that dwells inside them
they are almost sure to boast

is the source of all their problems,
all their ills and woes but
they aren’t caused by this apparition
but by a far great foe

this beast that dwells inside them
and their soul he’s surely bought
this fierce and ugly beast
is none other than negative thought.

(gif sourced from Giphy.com)


Did you miss the last episode of my novel, Alarm Clock Dawn? If so click here to read it. New episodes will be posted every Monday, Wednesday, and Friday mornings at 11AM CST!

To follow my unfolding story please visit my website here to sign up for my author newsletter.

Sort:  

Nice one.

I'm glad you enjoyed it, @mindfreak. I dug into my archives for this one. This was one of the first ten poems I ever wrote.

Great work!

This one really hit the spot for me. I've been going through a real rough patch lately. This reminder might just be the tipping point for me to get out of my recent rut.

Truly. Thank you.

So many people don't realize that the worst enemy they will ever face comes from within.

nice story ^^

This post has been linked to from another place on Steem.

Learn more about linkback bot v0.4. Upvote if you want the bot to continue posting linkbacks for your posts. Flag if otherwise.

Built by @ontofractal

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57956.22
ETH 3126.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45