A WRITER’S LIFE (An Original Poem)

in #story8 years ago (edited)

Shaky with apprehensions,
poorer this year than the last,
existing in the place between
what will be and what has passed

it’s an author’s life for me
I have given the benefit of every doubt,
and during fevers of eloquence,
found myself electrified absolutely
by the lightning bolt of muse

this current flowing through me,
is greater than any currency
and has given me friends
that span oceans wide
there are no longer any borders,
or blind pride

we are bound
by our love of words,
and have found
an all embracing tenderness
that proves to me there
could be no other way.


Did you miss the last episode of my novel, Alarm Clock Dawn? If so click here to read it. New episodes will be posted every Monday, Wednesday, and Friday mornings at 11AM CST!

To follow my unfolding story please visit my website here to sign up for my author newsletter.

Sort:  

what is written
gets folded
and stuffed in a pocket
it falls through a hole
and flies
like an origami swallow

It is so ironic that you posted this @beginningtoend. See episode 46 of Alarm Clock Dawn to find out why. Mind-blowing timing.

Too funny, I have mostly been focused on poetry so I haven't been reading much else. It is hard to keep up with everyone and also keep up with other outside reading. Looks like you have an interesting story going.

Quite relevant, my friend!

Yes, it is my friend.

I really like this poem. You have captured the frustration that most writers feel. We're addicted to the process but not able to make a living doing it. Thanks!

By the way, I tried upvoting when I read the post but it wouldn't take. I had to exit and vote from the feed instead. Don't know why.

Thanks, @irenepsmith! Steemit has been very "buggy" the past 24hrs. They must be making updates to it. I appreciate your support! I hope you're enjoying...One Word at a Time....(the book)

the creative choice captured well :-)

I feel as if I can sense your passion by your "cadence" and choice of words. Words really are powerful and one's choice of words says a lot about "where they come from".

Thanks for sharing this wonderful poem, sir.

I'm glad you enjoyed it, @langostein! Any creative profession is a difficult road to tread but there is strength and comfort in numbers...and occasionally something comes along like Steemit that provides so many wonderful opportunities.

and your sense of sometime humanity, (don't give up!)

ah, this is true for visual artists as well ;)

It sure is, @storyseeker. I'm friends with a lot of creative people and feel that the the bond we share in a sense is payment. Before Steemit I had really struggled with getting my writing in front of readers. This has been a true blessing for me.

I can definitely see the potential here in exchanging directly through those who read and enjoy the work! There are lots of middlemen in publishing, so it is nice to have the freedom to share and speak what you will. The ongoing discussion among friends and students has been whether to try to get published with a large house or to self-publish (which has only become viable in the past 8 years or so for mainstream work I'd say) but Steemit is a surprisingly direct and intriguing option! I'm hoping to contribute and help keep it going - hoping more creatives will share here too :)

Very nice!

hello my friend worth waiting 24 hours to delight with such a beautiful poem, I admire your concentration and ispiracion to give these beautiful words you use, congratulations thank you very much until tomorrow

This post has been linked to from another place on Steem.

Learn more about linkback bot v0.4. Upvote if you want the bot to continue posting linkbacks for your posts. Flag if otherwise.

Built by @ontofractal

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63688.35
ETH 3125.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97