The Case for Buying Steem and Steem Power: The Dollar Vigilante Says Steem Is Now a Buy

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

In July of this year I found out about Steemit. I went from knowing nothing about it to making $15,000 in one day (now worth about $1,500!) to becoming a big believer in the potential of the platform.

Up to now I have only been an evangelist for the platform and currency in terms of its ability to make people money for contributing to the platform in the form of writing. And, numerous people I know, who I introduced to the site, have made thousands of dollars by posting on Steemit. These include @larkenrose (#3 in followers), @lukewearechange (#10), @dragonanarchist (#20), @falkvinge (#27) and literally hundreds more.

What I have yet to be, until today, is a promoter of actually purchasing Steem, the cryptocurrency, as a speculative investment.

When I first got into Steemit, Steem was trading at over $2 per coin/share and had a market capitalization of nearly $400 million. For something so new I was shocked at the high valuation. I've been an entrepreneur and investor in internet technologies since 1993, though, so seeing ludicrous valuations is more the norm than the exception, so I sat back and watched to see if it could sustain at that level.

It didn't!

As of today Steem is currently trading at near $0.30 with a total market cap of $54 million.

I have been powering up nearly all of the Steem dollars I've earned since July as I said it was an investment in the platform, as well as to show my commitment to it. If I hadn't, and just held the Steem dollars, I would have over $200,000 today. Instead I have Steem Power worth about $30,000.

That's a loss, on paper, of $170,000! But, as I said, I've been an investor in new web technologies for decades... that is completely normal... you usually either win big or lose big when speculating in new ventures.

However, here's the thing. I still think Steem can be absolutely massive. So much so that I still continue to power up nearly all Steem I earn on the site.

And, with a market capitalization, now, of a much more reasonable $55 million, I think the time may be close to actually look at purchasing Steem Power as a very viable speculative investment.

Here's my reasoning.

THE CASE FOR STEEM

Steemit.com, itself, is still in beta and, even by internet standards, still in its infancy. And, its growth has been very fast to date (and I expect that will only speed up). Thousands of developers and entrepreneurs are already building new technologies and applications on top of the platform... mainly because the platform is designed in such a way to incentivize people to do so. Very few other platforms pay people to develop for it in such an ingenious way.

Plus, Steemit hasn't even come close to hitting the mainstream yet. Hardly anyone in the mainstream even knows what bitcoin is yet, but they will... and the same can be said for Steem in the next few years.

And, once the mainstream catches on that there is something that is better than Reddit, Facebook or Twitter and they can earn money just by being on it, I think we could see a massive adoption unlike anything we've seen in recent history.

Once that happens then venture capital investors may be wondering how they can profit. After all, if the buzz 6-12 months from now, is that Steem is a FB/Twitter killer and has tens of millions of users and is rising fast, everyone will be looking for how they can get a piece of the action.

The only way, of course, is to purchase Steem. And, the only way to ensure your Steem investment maintains its value is to power it up to Steem Power (with a total hold period of 2 years).

If Steemit begins to get that kind of buzz, venture investors will look at the Steem market cap, and if it is still in the range of $50 million or less, we could see a buying flurry.

After all, Facebook currently has a market cap of nearly $400 billion. So, if people start hearing that Steemit can be a FB killer, they'll look at its market cap and realize Steem is currently at 0.013% of the value of Facebook and easily take a punt on it (aka a speculative bet).

If this were to happen, and it is completely within the realm of possibility, a Steem market cap of $1 billion, a year from now, is not at all out of the question. And, if things go really crazy (which paradigm shifting technologies usually do), who knows, $10 billion or more.

By that point, Steem would have tens of thousands of developers working on it, coming out with new services and applications on a regular basis.

The site would be attracting tens, if not hundreds of millions of users, and that would attract advertisers (who would use the promote function to target their audience) and only further the buzz.

RISE OF THE BLOCKCHAIN

In the last few years, billions of dollars have been invested into blockchain related companies by venture capital investors. In other words, blockchain is no longer that "obscure" thing that hardly anyone but cryptogeeks and anarcho-capitalists know anything about.

And, because of that, something like Steem is not completely alien to a growing base of investors. It's all very reminiscent to me of the internet around 1996... hardly anyone really knew what it was... but a growing group of savvy speculators and investors were betting big.

Then, a few years later, the public found out about internet stocks and they went vertical.

Aside from bitcoin, ethereum, maidsafe and a few others, what other cryptos have the potential to capture the imagination of a large swathe of people? In fact, which crypto has the potential to become an even bigger name than any of them in the public's mind? Only Steem, in my opinion... because everyone can and could be using Steem related platforms as part of their daily life in the very near future.

For this reason, for speculative investors, I now think it is time to start looking at Steem as a speculative investment. Of course, that comes with all of the caveats of speculative investments... in other words, it could go to $0. It could also go to $10 billion or higher.

And, for current Steem users, who are earning Steem from their posts on Steemit, if you have no immediate use for the money and wish to contribute to the platform to see it grow, I suggest, at the very least, consider taking 50% of your Steem payout in Steem and the other 50% in Steem dollars and powering up the Steem.

It could turn out to be the investment of the decade... or it could turn out to be a total loss. But, you will be a part of trying to create something special in the process.

I promoted bitcoin at $3 in 2011 (currently over $600) and ethereum around $0.80 in January (currently over $11)... and I am going on record today saying that Steem is a buy at these levels ($0.30).

It could still go lower, and could go to zero, but I think the risk/reward for speculative investors is now tilted heavily towards reward.

STEEMFEST

If you are an investor and seriously interested in seeing what is happening in this ecosystem, then coming to Steemfest (click here for more) in November in Amsterdam is a must attend event. I'll be there and one of the top speakers but I'll mostly be going to get a real feel for what type of community of developers and contributors is developing.

<<Please vote for our Steem witness (click here) at tdv.witness, where we are already developing new technologies for the Steem platform including Steem Trail and a soon-to-come Wordpress Plug-in that could see Steem content easily integrated on every major website in the world>>

Sort:  

After the price spiked up to $4, I knew it was going to fall a lot. I just didn't see it continuing to fall for so long. I thought after Jeff and a few other names got on the site, that would start pushing the price up a bit, but no, not really. Still, the market cap is about 3x what it was before the spike, even though the price is about the same.

The fact that there are so many developers popping up to make third party apps and sites is definitely a bullish sign. I'm not even sure if Bitcoin had so many developers working on things when it was at this stage. With Synereo and Yours and the rest so far away from coming up with a product, Steemit is really the only game in town, which is probably going to be a huge advantage going forward.

One thing which would make me hesitant to open my wallet, is the high inflation is Steem, though obviously that's curbed when you're investing in Steem Power. It's said that Bitcoin needs $1 MM of investment every day to maintain its current levels. Right now with Steem, with 100% inflation per year, Steem requires (100% / 365 x 171,333,361 x $0.29) = $137,000 of investment per day to maintain its price. (If you feel like doublechecking my math, go ahead.) The daily volume of Steem is pretty close to that, so maybe it's reasonable to say that the Steem price can grow from here. Of course, if you're holding Steem Power, there doesn't have to be quite that much investment for our holding to grow in dollar terms. Let's wait and see.

When the Steem dollar peg is functioning, then it's the time to be steem.

I like Steemit. Even with the money taken out of the equation, I like Steemit. The fact that I've made money with it has been a big plus. A lot of things could be better and tweaked, but it's already a lot better than it was in, say, July.

I've looked at investing in STEEM and powering up the same way I look at donations I make to podcasts I like, for instance. It's a service I like that is easy to directly support, so I donate what I can to show my support. Of course, on Steemit, I can make a return on my "donation", which is a big plus.

It could be just me, though.

Not to mention the fact my country - Finland - has become more aggressive towards cruptocurrencies when it comes to taxation, unfortunately, so I'm not looking to cash out any cryptocurrencies right now anyway, until I figure out what to do.

I'm just greatful I learned about this from watching a random youtube video as early as I did! I'm already worth 2$! :P I feel like it is on the verge of taking over all fakebooks real content makers no doubt once everyone realizes even I can make money over here why wouldn't they switch to a much better more loving platform?! Ah Its a beautiful thing! I'm in love with this app & this steem stuff I still am learning all about and it confuses the hell out of me but I'm sure it'll all make sense sooner than I think. I'm just wondering, What should I be doing with my steem & how best it is used? Ive never even used bitcoin! So all your information is helpful! :3

I'm not sure if it will totally take over facebook, Until Steemit can have the features like facebook. It will still trail it. I think this site is for content creators at the moment, and not for the busy posters of Facebook, who like to document their entire lives, which really what facebook is for, along with the messaging. Currently I use it to converse with my team for game making/Coin2 and keeping in touch with friends and family. I think Steemit has a great future, every update seems to get more interesting. I will continue to stay here for posting my photography,art and game creation. I have had more success here then any other platform so far.

I hate to shit on a party train, but Steemit is SOO far away from even coming close to a Facebook, Twitter etc. I almost wonder how much TDV might have been paid to post this post and promote buying into SP right now(well I guess a guaranteed upvote by all the votes that can payout counts). Because looking at the current state my buy-in is somewhere around .01 -.05.

For starters, the content here people are posting and being pushed to by voting patterns is totally different than what you see on any other platform. You do not see 1-2 thousand posts posted all over Facebook. I do see it being a better alternative to Reddit though, but who knows if or when it could actually overtake it.

Unless the whole interface and options are changed on Steemit it won't even come close to capturing the mass audience Facebook does. Of course, this thing is just a tiny little infant and could grow into something massive, but some major changes will need to happen.

My personal suggestion, because everyone keeps saying but "this is still in beta" I would highly suggest looking at any serious investment as an "investment in beta."

That's true, it's like investing in something before it takes off. Like microsoft,apple, or amazon. Or it could be like investing in blockbuster and circuit city. Then you lose hard. You just never sure in the beginning. Crypto is even more of a mystery and can be more disastrous as a haste.

Any advice would be really welcome as I haven't made a penny

Everything I ever made on steemit went to steem power, I was buying at 2 dollars, for sure I'll be buying on 30 cents. One thing though, right now I must save steem dollars for steemfest ticket so i can't buy atm, but soon. Great blog.

We should have an investment day, where we all buy Steem power on the same day. Steem power only though so it can't be dumped without a two year powerdown. I propose 11/11/2016 the first day of Steemfest

Aside from bitcoin, ethereum, maidsafe and a few others, what other cryptos have the potential to capture the imagination of a large swathe of people?

Dogecoin? ;)

To the moon! Such currency.

I still have like a million of them.

That's actually quite to the point. Liquid Steem is no Bitcoin competitor, but more like DOGE. But we have Super DOGE on top! Steem Power! Wow! Such inflation protection! Much Token! :-)

Right there with you, coulda sold out and made over 40,000$ instead I powered up. I understand money and the creation of very well, steemit is the first crypto currency with the potential of mass adoption and giving the power of money creation back to the people. That's why I powered up and took a nice little pay cut. Shoulda been smart sold out and bought more but I wanted to show a long term commitment in a platform I absolutely adore.

Though there may be good information in this post, it's hard to perceive it as an objective piece. The author is already powering down, so he isn't investing in steem at all. But, getting others to invest their money into buying steem will increase the amount he can sell his steem for as he continues to power down.
The price of steem has been consistently dropping since I joined the site a few weeks ago and until a demand for steem is created, I don't see any reason for it to rise again. Facebook's market cap is so high because they make so much money in advertisement and sponserships etc.
I know that steemit has been trying hard to avoid that, but, if they were able to find a way to include advertisements on the site, done in a tasteful way, and also made those advertisement sales purchasable only using steem, then that would certainly increase a demand for steem. Users of the site could also have adverts disabled in return for investing 75% or a little more of any earnings back into steem power, giving incentive to hold onto steem longer and keep the price higher for longer.
I know literally nothing about this type of thing so perhaps I am making no sense, but it seems like a logical solution to the problem we are faced with regarding the falling price of steem.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64332.82
ETH 3146.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17