Spotlight Issue 9 -The Art Lover Edition

in #spotlight8 years ago (edited)

centredspotlightRZTWO.jpg

In this week's Spotlight, we are using pictures rather than words. We are taking a special look at all the wonderful creative types that have joined the Steemit family.

Some of them are established and some of them aren't, however they all deserve your attention and votes for creating wonderful works for us to enjoy.

I have been amazed at times, at the amazing artwork that our very own Steemians are producing. I have also been overjoyed when I have seen artists talking about how Steemit is the reason they're finally getting recognition.

One more thing, there are a lot of images in this issue of Spotlight, so this is more of a take your time and enjoy the art post, rather than a skim through. If you haven't got time now, bookmark it, and come back later, I promise it will be well worth it.

So without further ado, sit back, relax and take a look at:

The Artists Of Steem


Cryptogee Chronicles Art Competition Winner

@nekromarinist

First up, we have the very talented @nekromarinist who was the only on time entry into the Cryptogee Chronicles Art Competition. Luckily for me, I had invited him to enter because I had seen his work and loved it.

Neckromarinist has a passion for fantasy and sci-fi art and as you can see below, his furtive imagination allows him to create captivating imagery. Please stop by his page, follow him and show him some Steemit love.


dodoyevski.jpg

Dostoevsky by @nekromarinist

JayzzornSkyRZ1200.jpg

Sky Designer by @nekromarinist

daddy storiesRZ1200.jpg

Daddy Stories by @nekromarinist

spider wolfRZ1200.jpg

Spidercat by @nekromarinist

GabrielRZ1200.jpg

Gabriel by @nekromarinist

NekrowhaleRZ1200.jpg

Steemit Whale by @nekromarinist

swivelRZ1200.jpg

Swivel by @nekromarinist

SkytrainRZ1200.jpg

Principia Level One by @nekromarinist

love machine laser eyesrz1200.jpg

Love Machine unfinished by @nekromarinist

Nekromarinist love machine splitrz1200.jpg

Love Machine sketches by @nekromarinist

Love machine labelrz1200.jpg

Love Machine Hop Head Label by @nekromarinist

@fairytalelife

It would be impossible to do an art section without mentioning Fairytalelife. She has burst onto the Steemit scene and immediately wowed us with her talent and generosity of spirit.

She started the artstudio room in Steemit Chat, for the purposes of helping out artists and aspiring artists alike. She has a fresh style, and it is easy to get lost in her picture; I can't wait to see more. I know they take a long time to do, but I'm selfish and want them now!

Blanche colorRZ1200.jpg

Blanche by @fairytalelife

woman tying braidRZ1200.jpg

from How to Draw a Braid by @fairytalelife

woman at window 2RZ1200.jpg]

from The oubliette by @fairytalelife

harrowingRZ1200.jpg

from The oubliette by @fairytalelife

the grateRZ1200.jpg

from The oubliette by @fairytalelife

Red shoesRZ1200.jpg

Red Shoes by @fairytalelife

GinghamDogoriginalend93eb9boyglassRZ1200.jpg

from "The Gingham Dog and the Calico Cat" by Eugene Field: by @fairytalelife

haunting EyeRZ1200.jpg

from How To Draw An Eye by @fairytalelife

@kaylinart

Kaylinart is only 21 years old, but has bags of experience, as she has been drawing since the age of 11. She is an obssesive artist and is constantly beavering away, creating new pictures. Kaylin loves her art so much that she has turned it into her profession, by producing adult colouring books. Her dedication and hard working attitude, is bound to take her on a fascinating journey through the art world in years to come.


COLOURING BOOK COVERRZ1200.jpg

Silly Rabbits Colouring Book Cover by @kaylinart

FLOWER GIRL 2RZ13.jpg

Flower Girl by @kaylinart

TULIPRZ12.jpg

Tulip sketch by @kaylinart

sexy woman coloring book cuffedrz12.jpg

Cuffed from Sexy Woman Coloring Book by @kaylinart

EYE FRAUGHTRZ1200.jpg

from Hacks To Draw An Eye by @kaylinart

Sexy Woman coloring bookrz12NEW.jpg

Teasing from Sexy Woman Coloring Book by @kaylinart

WOLFRZ12.jpg

Wolf by @kaylinart

self portrait from hacks to sell your art online.jpg

Self Portrait from Hacks To Sell Your Online Art by @kaylinart

@katharsisdrill

EDIT: I have since been kindly informed by @katharsisdrill that the drawings below are actually from his Scandanavian brother @mikkolyytinen

EDIT 2: CORRECTION: The Ink and Notes post I have referenced is by @mikkolyytinen, therefore it is only the Crazy Tree drawing below which is his, the rest belong to @katharsisdrill. This was an honest mistake as I did not see the resteem symbol on the @katharsisdrill blog. Apologies for any confusion caused.

Katharsisdrill, or Kaptajn Knas, as he sometimes likes to be called, is an eclectic, Danish artist with a vivid imagination, and punchy style. He is an interesting character, and one that I think will bring lots of diverse and interesting views, through his art and his musings.

If you only check out one post of his, then it must be his Ink And Notes post. Hopefully after checking that out, you'll realise that you should check out more of his stuff.


kraken_ornament_840RZ1200.jpg

Kraken Ornament by @katharsisdrill

ink treeRZ1200.jpg

Crazy Tree from Ink And Notes by @mikkolyytinen

queen clafiaRZ1200.jpg

Queen Calafia by @katharsisdrill

planet caravanRZ1200.jpg
Planet Caravan by @katharsisdrill

queen of shebaRZ1200.jpg
Queen of Sheba by @katharsisdrill

the peanut houseRZ1299.jpg]

The Peanut House by @katharsisdrill

Queen ThyraRZ1200.jpg

Queen Thyra by @katharsisdrill

@lapilipinas

Lapilipinas is a tourism student from the Philippine Islands, however quite away from tourism, he has a passion and a flair for art. He has a big love for origami, and has studied various techniques. I have been delighted by some of his creations, and I look forward to seeing more. Apart from his origami, he has shown that he is also adept with a pen in his hand, as his 3D Flower Pop Up drawing attest's to.


SHOGUN EGGSTERRZ1200.jpg

Shogun Eggster by @lapilipinas

PiG WARRIORS.jpg

Pig Warriors by @lapilipinas

3D FLOWER POP UP 2RZ1200.jpg

3D Flower Pop Up by @lapilipinas

SCORPIONRZ1200.jpg

Paper Scorpion by @lapilipinas

HALF BUTTERFLYRZ1200.jpg

Paper Butterfly unfinished by @lapilipinas

@mariandavp

Wow! Where do we start with the wonderful Marianda? Well in her introduction post she says;

"I have studied at MIT and my main occupation is strategy and transactions in the Greek banking sector. On the side, I paint and I write. I have exhibited my art works seven times already, while both my art and writings has been published through significant Greek newspapers, magazines and blogs. I am also the mother of a family of little arty black ants, called the Mirminx."

Phew, impressive stuff, I'm exhausted just imagining what her schedule must be like! I'm just thankful that she has found time to post on Steemit, and to contribute to our collective, artistic, nourishment.

Along with Marianda's impressive art, you will often get a poem, both of which she has created originally for our Steemit family, which does nothing but honour us.


Experience1200.jpg

Self Portrait by @mariandavp

SometimesRZ1200.jpg
Sometimes by @mariandavp

The GoodbyeRZ1200.jpg

The Goodbye by @mariandavp

the_scorpions_songRZ1200.jpg

The Scorpion Song by @mariandavp

Fire_in_her_eyes1200RZ.jpg

Fire In Her Eyes by @mariandavp

SECRET SPARK1200RZ.jpg

Secret Spark by @mariandavp

Always somewhere1200RZ.jpg

Always Somewhere by @mariandavp

@neopatriarch

Neopatriarch is an artist from South Carolina, however it took a while for him to come out of his artistic shell and start posting his drawings on Steemit. Luckily for us he did, as well as his standalone art, Neopatriarch also creates fantastically drawn and well written comics. He has published some of them on Steemit, along with some interesting and informative tutorials; and I hope he gets more support for his artwork.


Blue headRZ1200.jpg

Female Head sketch by @neopatriarch

fanartRZ1200.jpg

Fanart by @neopatriarch

blueborg girlRZ1200.jpg

Cyborg sketch by @neopatriarch

greenheadRZ1200.jpg

Green Alien sketch by @neopatriarch

the green ladyRZ1200.jpg

The Green Lady by @neopatriarch

VoidArt Moving RoomRZ1200.jpg

VoidArt Moving Room by @neopatriarch

@scarlet-rain

Next we have another Steemit artist from Denmark, and she is just 15 years of age. However her tender years belie her talent. At the moment Scarlet is big into anime and Manga style characters, she enjoys reproducing famous characters, and also drawing her own.

I think in the years to come, if she keeps up the same intensity as she draws with now, that we will see this blossoming artist's talent go from strength to strength.


feliciaRZ1200.jpg

Verification drawing by @scarlet-rain

manga knifeRZ1200.jpg

Verification drawing by @scarlet-rain

blue ponytail girlRZ1200.jpg

Verification drawing by @scarlet-rain

inoridrawingRZ1200.jpg

Inori drawing by @scarlet-rain

demon chibiRZ1200.jpg

Demon Chibi by @scarlet-rain

verificationRZ1200.jpg

Manga Girl by @scarlet-rain

@gdsprgdd

Our next artist is a lady from Russia, who sometimes goes by the name foxmachine; however for some unfathomable reason, she has chosen to pick @gdsprgdd.

This name is not as memorable as her art, and maybe one day Steemit will allow users to change their names, or perhaps a new account might be necessary. Foxmachine's art is absolutely beautiful, and as you shall see below, she has an eye for presentation.

Perhaps her poor choice of username is the reason that she is still struggling for Steemit recognition. Hopefully that will change, as time goes on, because she definitely deserves more votes than she has been getting. I have seen some 2 month old posts from her, that are beautiful, and it pains me that she can't get rewarded for them any more. Anyway, I have followed her, and I hope you do too.


Dramatical Murder characterRZ12.jpg

Dramatical Murder character by @gdsprgdd

sleeping foxRZ.jpg

Fox Machine by @gdsprgdd

snowboarder artRZ12.jpg

Snowboarder Art unfinished by @gdsprgdd

bit of eroticaRZ12.jpg

Workspace sketch from A Bit Of Erotica by @gdsprgdd

tell me what you thinkRZ12.jpg

From Tell Me What You Think by @gdsprgdd

techno foxRZ12.jpg

Angry Fox by @gdsprgdd

bit of erotica black backgrndRZ12.jpg

Workspace sketch from A Bit Of Erotica by @gdsprgdd

@smailer

Our last artist may not be everyone's cup of tea, or indeed coffee! But for me, art is about happiness, and her art makes me smile and therefore happy. Smailer is an unusual artist and a coffee enthusiast, she has quite an impressive "coffee corner" in her house. As well as drinking the stuff, of which I'm sure she does plenty! Smailer also indulges in latte art, the wonderful pastime of making art in a coffee cup.


SHIBA INURZ12.jpg

Shiba Inu by @smailer

Brisk minnowsWZ12.jpg

Brisk Minnows by @smailer

ORIGAMI ARTRZ12.jpg

Latte Origami Crane by @smailer

Friendly DolphinRZ12.jpg

Friendly Dolphin by @smailer

LIONRZ12.jpg

Lion by @smailer

fig leafRZ12.jpg

Leaf by @smailer

origami shrimpRZ12.jpg

Latte Origami Shrimp by @smailer

So there you have it, some really inspiring Steemit artists, swimming in what is become a growing sea of creative Steemians.

These men and women have poured out their heart and souls for our pleasure and enjoyment. I urge you to support them, not just for the next couple of posts, but onwards through their's and your journey on Steemit.

Let us send a huge tidal wave of Steem Power their way, and turn Steemit into the number one place for original art on the internet.

DISCLAIMER

Some images have been colour corrected and/or cropped to suit the style of the Spotlight steemzene. In some cases where the artist has left their work unamed, or has been unclear as to the piece in question's title, I have added in my own name.

If any of the featured artists spot any mistakes in the above Spotlight, please contact me (@cryptogee) on Steemit chat. If you do not have a chat account, please leave the correction in the comments.

THE NEXT EDITION IS OUR 10TH! SO PREPARE YOURSELVES FOR A SPOTLIGHT EXTRAVAGANZA!!

Till next time

Cryptogee

WHO IS YOUR FAVOURITE ARTIST ON STEEMIT? WERE THEY FEATURED HERE? SHOULD THEY HAVE BEEN? LET US KNOW BELOW!

Sort:  

Im honored to be at the top of this Spotlight! I love @fairytalelife art works , some of artists were unknown for me, now I follow. Also I love the creativity of @storyseeker and creativity and a bright character of @opheliafu. Sorry guys, but this three ladies are my favorites

You deserve it! I look forward to the next set of drawings :-)

Cg

Thank you so much for this! I love it. You put something truly beautiful together! Thank you.

You're welcome, I hope it helps in some way :-)

Cg

Thanks so much for including me.I'm honoured to be in such great company. It really makes me want to up my game.

As Jack Nicholson said to Helen Hunt in some movie,

"You make me want to be a better man."

In this case, a better artist.

Thanks again,

Robert

Thank you for the art! Keep Steemin' :-)

Cg

@cryptogee I don't know what to say. From the bottom of my heart THANK YOU and everyone else who has supported us.

My pleasure, and please keep posting :-)

Cg

Yay, I found me some new artists to follow, so thanks you very much for this post and the time taken to put it together. :D

Glad to be of service! :-) Please follow and upvote them, they need your support :-)

Cg

Thank you for sharing this post!
I had known some artist from your spotlight list.
But now I find the new one too, with interesting works.

I want to see the next time on your list @skapaneas , @opheliafu , @villainblack, @voronenka, @acidsun and some more they have they own style and perfect art.

I didn't expect my name to pop up here. thank you @smailer I would like to refer @kimal73 his serious artwork not the later fractal works he is posting btw.
I truly think he is the greatest master of painting in steemit at the moment. ofcourse @opheliafu for her great palette and color selection that displays passion to color theory and an amazing discipline to whatever medium she got her hands on.

Wow thank you for this list; I will consider them for the next art issue.

Cg

I am most grateful for being included in this and eclectic is a very precise description of me - So, first Thank you!

But, alas I can not take the honour for these beautiful drawings. They are made by my talented and very hard working Scandinavian brother @mikkolyytinen, that I would have featured among the best artist on Steemit. I find every post of his interesting and highly charged with willpower and artistic force.

Ah, thank you for letting me know; were you resteeming them?

Cg

Yes, I think I did, they are fantastic.

Edit: I did :)

It is this drawing that is made by Mikko Lyytinen:

The rest is made by me.

Aha! OK, I'l edit again.

Cg

Would you consider to let me design a Chinese stamp for you for my ongoing stamp-feature? I would need two test-profiles. One with a real name and one with an internet handle like yours...

You were the only one to comment so if you like I would be glad to use you. In the end you will have a nice cyber-stamp.

Ah yes! I remember that, yeah that would be cool :-)

Cg

I'll find some time for the stamp-post soon then :)

Great idea for a post! I see some familiar folks and many new ones to follow. I love that you are highlighting the artists on Steemit.

Now that's certainly a spotlight to be proud of. We have some real talent here.

Thanks @wingz, it was definitely the most enjoying to put together, and the most time consuming!

Cg

Wonderful post, I hadn't seen some of these and will start following their work!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57849.42
ETH 3122.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43