The Unforeseen: How I became a single Mum (Featuring @mahekg as Author)

in #life8 years ago (edited)

It’s never nice to relive the past that has been frighteningly aggravating and troublesome. Some might say that I had a pretty normal of it but it is something that I don't consider normal. It has overshadowed me all my life. A life that I had dreamt to be pain free, trouble-free...heavenly!

Teenage years of one’s life are perhaps the most troublesome of all. Undoubtedly one enjoys them to the utmost yet there are times when things happen that are unchangeable. They happen to mold your future and bring along unforeseeable regrets.


Image Credit

I was 16 years old at that time. Just out of high school and in my freshman year at the college. My life circled around partying, enjoyment and whatnot. It was during that time it happened and I am unable to understand how it did, but I fell in love with a guy. He was a year up than me in college. We started going out, having fun, doing a bit of drugs, smoking weed, paying strangers to buy some beer for us etcetera, etcetera. Life revolved around enjoyment. But I still had no plans to bearing a child at this age. As I said earlier, one can't predict everything. I happened to get exactly what I wasn’t hoping for and it changed my life 180 degrees around.


Image Credit

A few months later I was taking my English Literature lecture when I suddenly felt nauseated. Then came the vomit; spilling all my breakfast in front of me. I thought maybe something caused me indigestion. I wasn’t too worried. It happened again a couple of days later. This time I was! I went to my family physician to get a physical and also to get my digestive issues checked out. I was shocked when he mischievously smiled and winked at me and asked whose kid was it?


Image Credit

It was as if a boulder had crashed on my head. I asked him whether he was joking. He showed me the ultrasound and said he wasn't. He asked me whether I would like an abortion; he could refer me to someone. But I said no. I knew I had to talk to my boyfriend.

I cornered him after college and told him what I was going through. This is where it all ended for me and I came to know that in life people use you. There are a very few people who actually care about you and my bf wasn't one of them. He left me there and then. My parents refused to finance an extra person and I don't blame them. They told me to get an abortion but I couldn't bring myself around to that idea. I left my home after my little one's birth and decided to raise him on my own.

I had to work double shifts at bars and restaurants but I ensured that my boy got the best education and learnt better values. He is now a doctor himself and knows how to care for his mother and his family. I feel I might not have led my life the way I wanted to but at least I made my child a better person so that he wouldn't repeat the mistakes I made during my life...!

Don't forget to follow @mahekg!!

@crazymumzysa features authors to promote new authors and a diversity of content. All STEEM Dollars for this post go to the featured author.

Sort:  

First off thanks for sharing. I had posted about being a single mother taking my daughter on a road trip across the US to show her some of the world and caught some scuff for mentioning that I was a single mom, like I was looking for hand-outs. When in reality it's empowered me, and taught me I don't need to be scared to travel without a man, or need one's support to raise my child.

I became a single mother when my husband at the time decided to cheat on me 2 weeks before I had our daughter.

First of all it is very sad to know what you have gone through, And very inspiring to see how you are managing everything being a single mum.

Purpose of this post is to inspire single mums out there and i feel proud you appreciate my work.

Touching story, well writen

Thank you Baracuda, The above statement is what every writer writes for. Touching the readers heart.

You didn't take the easy way out and that makes you a strong person.

Strong admirable woman!

Thank you for sharing, you are indeed a strong woman who taught her son the value of life. You are an example to us all.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67364.55
ETH 3256.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64