Is The Parental Role In The Modern Family Changing From a More Disciplinary One To That of A Friend?

in #life8 years ago

Is The Parental Role In The Modern Family Changing From a More Disciplinary One To That of A Friend?

Long gone are the days of the perfect family unit, exemplified in shows like “Leave It To Beaver” or “The Cosby Show”, where parents had a defined role as leaders of the household. Society is changing though, and many parents rather than choosing the road of being the disciplinary adult are choosing to rather act as a friend. I want to discuss why I think this is happening , what are some potential positives and negatives to this new structure. I think the paradigm shift that is happening right now is going to be studied in the future by psychologists who want to figure out how two types of differently raised people would act in society.

Why Are Parents Becoming Friends Not Foes ?

The words of of Amy Pohler’s character in Mean Girls exemplifies what we are currently seeing in our culture.

“Can I get you guys anything? Some snacks? A condom? Let me know! Oh, God love ya.”

Why though, has this massive shift happened when only a few decades ago, parents had their place as the disciplinary force within a household. People used to fear getting caught smoking weed or drinking by their parents but now, for many people it’s a light verbal scolding at most. At college I saw it all around me, kids raised in alternative environments where they were not raised by their parents , but rather just lived along with them. In my experience the amount of people who have smoked weed with their parents or got drunk with their parents is unimaginable. My parents were not the most disciplinary and made it clear I could always talk to them , but I would never smoke with them or drink to excess , just out of respect for them, but maybe im the odd one out.

I think perhaps a reason why many of these parents are choosing the friend route may have something to do with divorce and how the family hierarchy seems to break apart after it. It was only really recently that divorce became a common practice in North America, and many times children act out, because they are confused about the situation. More often than not in parental relationships you have a sort of “good cop, bad cop” thing going on between the children and the parents. For example your mother might be more lenient than your father so you go to her to ask for money. However this only works when the two parents are still together, the second they get divorced, the bad cop instantly become the enemy and the good cop becomes their best friend. Rather than keeping the hierarchy continued, things seem to break apart. This is my guess, but it might have a much smaller effect than I believe, because the truth is no one knows why things are moving in this direction.

Benefits

So what are some potential benefits to a friend-like relationship with your parents? I think as a friend you are much more likely to form longer lasting bonds with your parents and become closer to them as people than children in parents from former generations. This provides relationships where the elderly are definitely more accepted in society rather than just being shoved into a home to die. People today who don’t have the type of relationship with their parents as the new generations do, seem to view their parents as a pain in the ass or as a disruption in daily life rather than a gift. Also if a child was going through tough parts in their life, they could talk to their parents without fear of reprisal for doing something bad or stupid. There tends to be less judgment in a friend type relationship. This simple act can be paramount in giving a child a happier life, but most of all making them a more successful part of society. There are probably more benefits I have not thought of, but even the benefits that I have written down put a pretty good argument for choosing a friend relationship with your child.

Cons

With everything there are benefits and cons and the biggest con in my opinion is the possibility of turning your child into a monster. Calling them a monster is a strong and vague claim, but in reality people who act the way these children potentially could is the way a monster would act. Having a friend type relationship with your parents could leave you with no boundaries about how to act in a hierarchy for when you openly enter the real world. Much of early learning in life is about how to discipline ones self and realize that you are not the center of the universe. A child who has their parents approval in whatever they do , whether good or harmful, does not learn boundaries that you are supposed to abide by as a productive member of society. You can’t go around starting fights with people or criticize your boss openly at every turn because you don’t agree with them. You will quickly realize that this is not how the structure of our society works and will be quickly hit with a realization that you are not the most important person in the world. The biggest problem I found when I interacted with people that were close friends with their parents was they had a largely inflated ego and were either borderline or full narcissists. Their parents had been telling them they were god’s gift to the world for so long that they started to not only believe it, but act like it.

Many of these claims I have made are based on my own observations which of course are very limited in the grand scheme of things, but I truly believe this is a parental structure that many are choosing to raise their children. Like I said im not sure whether or not the benefits outweigh the cons in this situation and im sure most individual situations are different, but there definitely is some change going on. Im very curious to hear about your experiences on this subject matter and what your opinion is on it, or even just where you think parenting is going.

-Calaber24p

Sort:  

As a parent my mission is simple. I am here to prepare my children to for the challenges, opportunities, and risks of life so they may have the skills, knowledge, and moral compass to do more for society than I have. I believe we owe the future of mankind and deliver upon that debt by preparing the next generation to improve on what we have contributed.

I get this may just be me, but that is the way I choose to be as a person. It aligns with the code that I live by.

Therefore, I am a parent first. Guiding, teaching, showing them (lead by example), and giving them the experience I had to 'learn' by making mistakes. I also allow them to make informed mistakes, take risks, etc. if it is in a safe situation (usually with me right there). I think this is the best way for me (not imposing on anyone else here) to raise my children to have all the opportunities in life they possibly can. It then becomes their choice what to do with the tools they are given.

My job (parent) is first. If we become lifelong friends that is a bonus. But I decided long before they were born, that the objective stated above is first. If they hate me, but I have done my job, then I am still happy.

I agree that we need to be a parent first. And if we wind up as friends when they grow up, that's wonderful.

Completely agree with everything you said, you sound like a father that many people in this world need.

I love spending as much time as possible with my daughter, we play games, watch movies, go to the pool.

But when the rubber meets the road, I am the adult. I am daddy. I am in charge.

I think children need that. They need someone to be in charge. Not in a mean dominating way. But still, in charge.

I agree with you. I like the way you parent.

This is how im going to raise my child if I have one. I want to be fun and her friend at times, but there are lines and consequences if they cross them.

The majority of parents certainly seem to be "switching" what their role is, and I believe that we are beginning to see the effects of that.

Also, "one of the cons" may be that your child will grow up to be "one of the cons."
(pretty much the "monster" you mentioned earlier with a pun added)

haha yeah I think once your child becomes a monster it is very hard to control them after that point.

Nice article @calaber24p, I heard a lot about treating your kids as a friend instead of treating like you wanted them to follow evrything you wanted them to do. I always wanted this kind of treatment towards my kid. Making them a friend is a good idea because they will be opening everything to us parents, their choices, their likes and dislikes. But I admit, I was not able to reach such relationship with my kids, which made me believe Im not a good father.

I even posted an articles few weeks ago about how I driving my kids away from me.

https://steemit.com/parenting/@juvyjabian/am-i-doing-the-right-thing-for-my-kids-or-i-m-pushing-them-away-from-me

Im sure you are a fine father, I think like mctiller said, there is time to be a friend and time to be an adult, and that line has to be firmly established.

Thanks calaber24p, even if I dont feel that I am a good father because of the thing I did but like what I said in my article, I just want them to be a good individual.

By the way, can you teach me how did you put the yellow background in your comment?

the kid communicates what kind of parents he needs, the parent's job is to listen.

My mom is a dear friend now, but as a child, she was my mommy. She told me to do something and i did it but i would have many friendly conversations with her. Now days, I see kids hanging out with parents and arguing to the point of controlling their parents. Dont know what you call it, but most kids I see now days have low regard for parental authority.

Nice article..couldn't stop reading

Each day of our lives we make deposits in the memory banks of our children.

I find that friendships are not more lasting, or closer relationships. My role in my children's life is to be a mentor and instructor through the early years, a cheerleader in the middle years and a confidant as they grow older. Of course, underlying that, we are always "friendly" but I hope I am much more than a friend to my eight.

Children need role models.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59820.07
ETH 2408.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43