The Textile Hoarder

in #art8 years ago (edited)


I am not sure where this passion even came from. It is recent. The last four years even. If there is one thing I can not resist;  it is dreamy, gorgeous, beautiful, lovely textiles.  I just love fabrics. My infatuation has grown considerably since I started my own design label. Then again, I guess I started my design label because I already had a penchant for fabrics.   



We end up like our Mother

I remember my Oma's garage was turned into a craft storage space. As a kid, this shed looked huge, piled with neatly stacked fabrics and ordered book cases storing a wonderland of bits and bobs in carefully labelled boxes. The memories of the odd occasions I was allowed to enter this shed have always stuck with me.  My mother loved fabric too and was a crafty sewer herself. It was not until my thirties I discovered I shared this love too. 

 

Amour with vintage

I never buy brand new fabric, my thing is vintage, retro and old beautiful prints. I go through phases of styles and colours, with a particular love for bold vibrant prints, florals and humble neutrals. I love the tactile nature of fabric, the smell of ironing pure wool and the soft lustre of silk. 

  



Infinity

Over the years, my signature style, a modern take on traditional patchwork has evolved. One of my favourite things to make is infinity scarves. It is one large continual loop of lined fabric, that can be worn as a double or triple loop. Each individual scarf can be twisted around to share a kaleidoscopic of colours and create different looks.   




There is a certain harmony and balance to achieve with mixing pattern and texture.

Each scarve uses four metres of fabric and is a fascinating mix of weaves, prints and textures. I love to be innovative with  fabric combinations, spending a great deal of time hunting for the perfect unexpected match.

On average each Infinity Scarf features between 8 – 12 different fabric panels.   



My studio is my wonderland.   

In the past few years, I have amassed an impressive collection of fabric that crosses many decades in styles and design. 



I can get lost here for hours, selecting fabric combinations. 

There is always one or two unexpected panels in each scarf. A piece of fabric that is a non-conventional match but manages to pull the entire colour palette together and jump out at you. 

This is my art and I LOVE it!


Until next time, 

xx Isabella

Sort:  

I don't know how to say that... but it is very warm| sincere | cozy post ^_^

I can truly understand that your studio is your wonderland :) You always write great posts with colorful pictures. My grandmother used to have a box full of all kinds of buttons, I used to play with them and wonder what clothes they would look nice on. As a grown up I have changed the look of an item by changing buttons. Have a great evening:)

Aww I love that you are still drawn to buttons. What a sweet nostalgic way to change an outfit. Love your posts about slow fashion too @leneg. Thanks for your kind words.

Well I can't in anyway relate to this (as I close the doors to my overflowing fabrics cupboard). :D

haha - You never know when you will need a particular colour - hoarding fabrics in my mind is acceptable :)

This is funny, because I use to work for a Design firm (Vogue Interiors) and I would bring home so many of the outdated and discontinues Fabrics from our Library. I had everything from from Silks to leathers. My wife actually made quite a few napkins and scarfs from them. This is a great hobby if you got the talent. Nice post.

Please check out my latest post

My true Story https://steemit.com/story/@ltndd1/bi-polar-living-life-on-a-roller-coaster-my-true-story

Thanks

Wow! I would have loved that. I bet you came across some divine pieces. I upvoted your post too.

Loved your post and completely identify as I have always loved creating with fabrics and textiles having started this hobby when I was 10 yrs. old. Now at 80 it is a hobby that has made my joy and my living for the last part of my life.

You sound like my kind of person :)


                  /'    |   |    \
                /    /  |   | \   \
              /    / |  |   |  \   \
             :   /   |  """"   |\   \       HI, I'm BUGS                 
             | /   / /^\    /^\  \  _|                                        
              ~   | |   |  |   | | ~
                  | |__O|__|O__| |
                /~~      \/     ~~\
               /   (      |      )  \           Lovely
         _--_  /,   `\___/^\___/'   \  _--_                 Rags
       /~    ~\ / -____-|_|_|-____-\ /~    ~\
     /____--------/~~~~\---/~~~~\ -----------_____
--~~~          ^ |     |   |     |  -     :       ~:~-_     ___-----~~~~~~~~|
   /             `^-^-^'   `^-^-^'                  :  ~\ /'   ____/--------|
       --                                            ;   | /~~~------~~~~~~~~~|
 ;                                    :              :   | ----------/--------|
:                     ,                           ;   .  |---\\--------------|
 :     -                          .                  : : |______________-__|
  :              ,                 ,                :   /'~----___________|
__  \\\        ^                          ,, ;; ;; ;._-~
  ~~~-----____________________________________----~~~

Give me my fabrics! I get it. I'm a huge textile fanatic as well. What a great post, @bridgetbunchy. We are kindred spirits, I think. :)

Yay! I loved putting together these photos but when I published this post I wondered if anyone would feel that same love :)

Oh yes. We do! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 65775.18
ETH 2600.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68