A Series on Gender and Agriculture - Issue #1

Hi friends! I'm going to do a series on Gender and Agriculture. This topic is really important to me, as I am a female hoping to have my own permaculture farm in the future. I have also worked on various permaculture farms while traveling. I am passionate about deconstructing power structures and current regimes. This series will attempt to deconstruct the current patriarchal food regime.

I just completed my degree requirements at American University in July with a BA in International Studies. I had a regional focus on Latin America and a specialty in Global Inequality and Development. I studied abroad at University of Auckland in New Zealand and at Universidad Adolfo Ibanez in Chile. All images are from Pexel.com and are licensed under the Creative Commons Zero (CC0) license.








Sort:  

good luck with your projects, it is best to live natural resources without pesticides or germicides, you can closely monitor production and ensure product quality organic congratulations on the post and thanks for sharing

We need more people like you in agriculture, and fewer like the new Bayer/Monsanto merger that's taking place.

In addition to the rich, detailed and important content, the layout is beautifully done, very easy to read. Thanks!

It is a domain where I was not expecting many gender issues. I was wrong... ;)

Do you have data relative to the proportion of women at the head of the (big and smaller) agrobusiness companies? I would like to compare this to the proportion of women in agriculture (in total), which is an information I do not have neither.

Looking forward to read more!

Enjoyed this - looking forward to futher posts.

Hi Anwen, congrats on the degree !
I have a friend starting permaculture in Switzerland and they do it as a family, this takes care of the inequality issue for them.
I am looking forward for more articles from you on this subject, I find it fascinating!

@anwenbaumeister I wish you all the best in your projects and looking forward to those series.
I love the way you lay out your post!

Make sense. More women should be allowed to work in the farm, food and agriculture field.

Much success to you.

Upvoted and Already followed before.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57956.22
ETH 3126.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45