My Interview With @churdtzu About My MMOG

in #mmog8 years ago (edited)

Below is a short video about a recent interview I had with @churdtzu about an idea I've been playing around with for:

A Massively Multiplayer Offline Roleplaying Game in which you're constructing the game at the same time you're playing it. - @churtdtzu

Here's one more quote from the interview:

There are no magical artifacts. But you can use [blockchain technologies] to make magical artifacts. - @andrarchy

Here is the link to the post @paradise-paradox, don't forget to throw some love their way with upvotes, subs, likes, handshakes, sexual favors, etc. ;)

If you find the idea of the game interesting and are interested in potentially making it a reality, feel free to use the comment section of this post or reach out to me on steemit.chat.

Sort:  

I have been waiting for this. You took it to another level though from my "vision". I had imagined blockchained incorperated into the game, I have played on gaming markets for years. I say markets as it was an economic venture and what I did for work solely for three years (with three employees!). The Idea of creating the items though.... that is a whole new level and would make sense as blockchain really makes the items yours, so why shouldn't they be created? Well done!

Follow up. I have zero programming skills lol. What I do have is 10+ years of making money from the MMO genre and have quite a bit of information from that end of it the players and what typically has worked for games. I considered gaming items my first crypto currency experience lol. If this begins to take form as an idea... I would love to be part of the early discussions and do believe I have something to contribute in this area. I say early as when it comes to the development... I love to learn and have started picking it up.... But nothing I could offer of value there. Just be excited to share my insights gained over the years.

All different angles will be helpful and appreciated! :)

Fascinating video, guys. It seems like this game idea really wants to transcend past the concept of "game." When @andrarchy said that to change the world you have to change the incentives, I thought that said a lot about human nature and how it's not immutable. It seems like it reached that point because of that fundamental kernel of the game concept. It all kind of points to some sort of "post-game theory," or at least that's what it's suggesting to me.

I also think it's cool that you believe there's a nugget of truth in all ideologies, I've always felt that you can learn something from everyone myself.

To @churdtzu, that's totally a TTNG shirt isn't it? I love that band, been one of my favorites for years. Have you heard their newest album? I posted a review of it on here that you may be interested in, as music writing is a niche I'm trying to carve out for myself here on Steemit. Here's a link if you'd like to read it:

https://steemit.com/music/@fungusmonk/first-music-review-series-on-steemit-the-harmonic-series-5-ttng-disappointment-island-but-not-disappointing-album

It's actually the Stone of the Sun, a Mesoamerican artefact which now sits in the anthropological museum in DF... which I see that band has used in their cover art. I'll have a little listen

Oh yeah, I'm aware, it just looked remarkably like the version of the graphic used on their shirt and album art. I would definitely recommend either the most recent album Disappointment Island, or Animals. 13.0.0.0.0 is actually my least favorite of theirs haha

Glad you liked it. Like that idea about post-game theory. Would love to hear more of your thoughts on that if you have any :)

Well it's mostly just a notion right now and I'm certainly no mathematician or expert, and I feel like game theory is probably much more broad than what I understand it to be, but what I thought of it was that - since it seems to want to transcend simply being a game - its incentives, motivators, things that influence the strategy involved, etc. would necessarily be broader and more abstract than what typically constitutes a game. This might require new language to fully describe.

In general I feel like some of the most thought provoking big-picture ideas for games come from critical thinkers who aren't game designers, as the outside perspective naturally sidesteps the tropes that would likely be starting points for designers. This outsider analysis thing is just making me think of the video where Werner Herzog analyzes a Kanye West music video now, hahaha

@fungusmonk Interesting perspective... I like it! :)

The game sounds very interesting, i think its a great idea... Can't wait to hear new info on this.

I didn't realize you were a fellow game developer. That is actually where I spend the majority of my time when I am not working in my job as a senior network engineer. In fact I was doing pretty well and getting my first title ready for release on Steam. (6th version of the code) Then I discovered this thing called Steemit and my productivity became almost ZERO. I know it is just a blip though and I will readjust to life with STEEMIT as a balanced part of it and get back to where I need to be. Just haven't found that balance yet.

Haha, I'm actually not really a gamer! It sounds like you would have far more value to add to this idea than I would!

Sounds awesome! Best to your endeavors!

Hey @dwinblood what's the name of your project? Is there anything online (devlog) about it yet? I'm developing a game that my colleague and I are about to publish on Steam too. Good to see other game devs here.

My project is called Wormhole Ventures. I launched it on Steam Greenlight a couple of years ago now, and had kind of given up on it and then after being there for 570 days I received a note it had been greenlit. So I have a lot to work to do integrating Steam API stuff I want to use, and I am pushing forward. Or at least I was until I encountered steemit. I think I'm starting to find a balance so I expect to be moving forward on the project some more. The version on the greenlight page is Version 5 of my code. I've been working on version 6 for quite some time. Though most of that has been getting my networking working the way I want, building a level editor (internal use only), and things like that. Plan on having MP which will be similar to the greenlight, but also having a full single player campaign with branching options that will also double as a tutorial. It is a different enough game that it really needs a tutorial to introduce people to what the purpose is. :)

I have another far more ambitious project that I WAS hard working on when I received the greenlight notice. It'll be full 3D and hopefully very cool but will likely be a several year project to release, and potentially could be something I keep adding stuff to for years after that.

I am doing these two projects in Unity. I considered switching to Unreal for the bigger project and it could handle it but I already have some great assets, and a lot invested into Unity so it'd likely set me back 6 months or more to switch to Unreal. They are both good engines, but I know Unity pretty well by now.

http://steamcommunity.com/sharedfiles/filedetails/?id=338504721

What is your project?

Thanks for the background. Looked through the steam page too, it does look like quite a unique thing, kudos! And congratulations on the greenlight. I'm also using Unity. The game my colleague and I are making is a local multiplayer, very slow, abstract racing competition called Chalo Chalo. Blog here.

I'm going to take a look at your blog posts, thanks!

As to blogging, I've been blogging about where the idea came from here on steemit. I've released I believe 4 blog posts. I haven't historically made it to the greenlight point in history yet, though that will likely be my next post.

[Nesting limit reached]
Your project looks interesting. I don't play racing games very often because I suck at them, and people that have far more time to get good at them than I do tend to stomp all over me. I do love procedural generation though and am definitely familiar with voronoi cells, though I have not coded those. They do some cool things though so I may have to. I've messed with perlin noise quite a bit, and I've been known to do quite a few weird voxel side projects. I love love love procedural stuff. I think it is critical to making games that we the developers can play and enjoy after we make them. If we make fixed levels, then we've memorized them likely played them far more than we wanted to during testing, so while it is a game type we WOULD play it ends up being something we don't enjoy playing. I like procedural techniques because they can eliminate this. They can make testing a lot more difficult though. "It did this weird bug" "what map seed were you using" "I don't know" :)

Sounds like a game I would play, especially integrating the blockchain. Good stuff.

I'd be interested in potentially helping in such a pursuit...

wow! working on something very similar! this is why people can never be confident that there is such thing as an original.thought. :)

Think of me as another piece of yourself coming at the problem from a different angle. We were having an original thought together :)

I actually did a bunch of research, wrote a paper, and did a presentation on applying predictive analytics to freemium economics within the context of games (specifically mobile computing games) for graduate school fall of '15, if that is of any interest to you.

Yes! Such information could be a great help to our combined idea(s)! :)

Huge multiplayer games incorporated in the blockchain will be nice and interesting to see.

Okay..... I got excited and want to share if you have time
How an OFFLINE MMOG might look

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 60506.66
ETH 2400.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58