Vercado Rolteek (My first Alkaline based recipe)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #alkaline7 years ago

IMG_1217.JPG

Firsts of all I would like to thank and acknowledge the work of the late DR Sebi, may he rest in paradise. Although he is no longer with us; his memory and work lives on. Studying the work of this inspirational man is what opened my eyes to better health.

Vercado Rolteek is what I call this mouth watering dish. I would say this dish is 90 percent alkaline. I haven't found any info regrinding the the ph level of parsnips. Alternatively I plan to replace it with (wild carrots) not the normal ones as they are full of starch, hence they are acidic.

I became a vegetarian on New Year's Day 2016. Originally my diet included eggs and milk as well as cheese. I'm naturally slim with a fast burning metabolism. I cycled to and from work for the whole of that year. I felt pretty good from being a vegetarian and giving up chicken and fish.

Then I came across the work of DR Sebi and realised that there were better alternatives to being a vegetarian and vegan even. I learnt that broccoli, carrots(normal not wild) and cauliflower were all starch based (unnatural) and they were compromising my immune system.

My diet is currently 3/4 alkaline. In reality is does take great effort to have a fully alkaline diet, I'm satisfied as long as it is the majority. Living in London getting certain ingredients can be a bit of a hassle.

Let's go straight in.

Disclaimer: I don't use any specific measurements when I cook. I'm more of a use your instinct freestyle type chef. Each to their own.

Ingredients you will need:

One Ripe Avocado
One stem of leek
Six mushrooms (any mushrooms will do except shiitake)
Two Parsnips.
Wash all vegetables. Avocado doesn't need to be obviously.

Ingredients you will need:

IMG_1184.JPG
• One Ripe Avocado
• One stem of leek
• Six mushrooms (any mushrooms will do except shiitake)
• Two Parsnips.
Wash all vegetables. Avocado doesn't need to be obviously.

  1. Start by pealing the parsnips then cut them to the desired sizes.

IMG_1196.JPG

  1. Cut the mushrooms to the desired sizes also.

IMG_1197.JPG

  1. Cut your leek stem to the the point where the greens and the white root part are about even, this is the waste part in my book. Use the green you've already cut of. Cut it into fine pieces. (Waste part shown in image below).

IMG_1198.JPG

  1. Boil the parsnips till soft.

IMG_1200.JPG

  1. Bring out these alkaline beasties...
    Add a generous layer of sesame oil to the (pre heat) frying pan. Note: Marinate the mushrooms in the agave syrup in the mean time rub it in thoroughly.

IMG_1194.JPG

  1. Add your sliced up mushrooms to the frying pan. The Parsnips should be ready at this stage; turn off the sauce pan with the parsnips. Let the parsnips simmer in the hot pan for a few minutes while the mushrooms cook

IMG_1203.JPG

  1. Once the mushroom starts sizzling add a moderate amount of agave syrup stir it in and let it soak through, (taste for flover). When the mushrooms turn to this golden brown they are ready. Cover them.

IMG_1204.JPG

IMG_1207.JPG

  1. Once mushrooms are removed from the pan repeat the process (sesame oil and agave syrup add in) drop the now soft parsnips in with the sliced up leek stem. (I added 1/4 of an onion to this to add some sting). This should be ready in between 5-10mins.

IMG_1398.PNG

  1. Now you can call this cheating if you like, but unfortunately I had a hard time finding wildrice and settled for this Uncle Bens version on this occasion curtesy of Tesco (see ingredients on the pack). (Feel free to judge) I'm sure you know this part...

IMG_1208.JPG

IMG_1213.JPG

IMG_1214.JPG

10 Bring on the avacado! Self explanatory really. Add it on to the plate last though.

IMG_1210.JPG

IMG_1212.JPG

  1. If my explanations were clear you should end up with something that looks a little like this. "Yes I eat most of my food with a spoon".

IMG_1216.JPG

Go on give it a go. And let me know how you get on! If you would like to know more leave a comment or send me a message.

Note: This article originally featured on my website http://www.verzsal.com/index

Bon a petit,

Verzsal.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62267.50
ETH 2992.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71