How I Got My Alcoholism Under Control - Tips & Words Of Support

in #alcohol6 years ago (edited)


Hey guys.

My first video is a short video with some tips and words of support for those that might be struggling with their alcohol consumption. It's been a long road since I first decided to try getiing it under control ... fast forward about 6 years and I'm doing a lot better. Hopefully, this information might help someone or at least make someone feel less alone.

It's time we start being open and talking about addiction and mental health. You're a warrior, own it!

How I got my alcohol problem under control notes:

Took 5 years - it does take time
Addiction services
It’s not easy and it won’t happen overnight
It won’t happen until you’re ready
realise that the alcohol is not always the only problem, it’s often the expression of the problem
Forgive yourself and release the shame
Exercise - talk to yourself In the same way as you would talk to someone you love
Have empathy for yourself
Find something to believe in and a reason to move forwards
Stop seeing the people you drink with
Accept the reality of the situation - you have most probably made mistakes and that’s okay
Change your environment - if you can
Breath
Meditate
Go easy on yourself
Find a passion
Find a therapist
Find support
Find something to replace the alcohol
Join a group of people also trying to help

Resources:

UK - https://www.mind.org.uk/information-support/guides-to-support-and-services/addiction-and-dependency/

Please feel free to share US services, I live in the UK and without knowing how the US system really works, I'd be hesitant to share resources.


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Great reach out to those that may suffer from this and other substance. It is almost impossible to do the journey of riddance of addiction by yourself. Others sharing their "experience and hope" is an invaluable asset. Thank you for the post. Peace and goodwill.

Thanks for the lovely comment :) Best wishes to you

Congratulations for your strength.. good job

Thank you that's very kind x

Wow. Really impressive, I'm proud of you. Keep it up! I have to show this video to a few of my family members

Ahh thanks :) That's great, I hope they find some use in it

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64761.00
ETH 3425.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55