Inside a glacier? Video can't do it justice

in #alaska7 years ago (edited)

Glacier.jpeg
The closest town to us is Juneau, the states capital. Although Juneau is the capital most of the legislators do not live in Juneau they live in Anchorage which almost has 300,000 people. Juneau has 30,000. Still a big city but not what people down south vision when they think of a city. Juneau has only two restaurants you my be familiar with, McDonalds and Subway. That's it. No Taco Bell, No Wendy's only McDonalds and Subway. But what that brings to Juneau is the maw and paw shops and restaurants which I prefer. Juneau has a Costco, Fred Myers (like a Walmart) and a Superbear (like Safeway). It did have a Walmart but people here like to support their local stores.
I'm not sure why I spewed all that out, it has nothing to do with a glacier. Just a little insight of what Juneau is like and Juneau is where you will find Mendenhall Glacier. The Juneau area has a 5 glaciers but the Mendenhall is the easiest to get to. Next month we will start getting snow on the mountains and I guess I thought about my hike I took last winter out to the glacier.
I hope you enjoy the video. Like everything else, video just doesn't do it justice.

Sort:  

This is magical!

I think so too. I love going out to the glacier in the winter.

Cool! When was this taken?

It was taken this winter, in February I think.

Wow that is so cool!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64294.34
ETH 3494.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54