Ai Wei Wei: The Most Influential Artists of our Time

in #aiweiwei6 years ago

We were lucky enough to witness Ai Wei Wei at the Cantonal de Beaux Art in the Palais de Rumine, Laussane Switzerland Ai Weiwei is widely considered to be one of the most influential living artists of our time, he has made a name for himself by speaking truth to power in subversive and controversial ways. ai wei wei.pngaiwei4.jpg

Art is innocent, says contemporary artist Ai Weiwei, but it is also a means of questioning the establishment. The Chinese native was in Lausanne to talk about his life in exile and a new exhibition which has taken over the city’s Palais de Rumine and museums.
ai wei we3.jpg

“I’m always very grateful to Switzerland as this is where I really started my career as an artist,” the 60-year-old tells reporters. Ai Weiwei’s early work was showcased at Bern’s Kunsthalle in 2004 – his first European solo exhibition.
ai wei wei1.jpgai wei wei3.jpg

“I feel I have drawn a circle and the two ends have met. I’m like a Swiss product,” he joked.zz2.jpgzz1.jpg
“This is the first time that I’ve tried exhibiting my works in this scale in museums, which are ready made for the purpose, but offer new possibilities,” he declared. His other works are scattered throughout the art, archaeology, geology and coins and medals museums for the public to discover.zz.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59238.58
ETH 3176.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45